Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
i have made this cake twice since seeing it last week. the first time i made it i was not satisfied with the fact that i couldn't taste pumpkin at all, other than that, recipe was great for a glazed chocolate cake. the second time i made it i substituted the can of "pumpkin" for a can of pre made "pumpkin pie filling" and got a much tastier cake, not only did the cake taste like pumpkin, but i didn't have to use pumpkin pie spice. awesome recipe, i love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! MY family and I all loved the cake! I added 1/2 c. chocolate chips to the ingredients right before placing in the pan, and it tasted delicious! Great recipe! Thanks, sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdrose
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Wow! An amazing switch-up on chocolate cake. My family, especially grandchildren, devoured the cake over a few days. I used extra dark powdered cocoa and added an additional 1/3 cup and baked cake in a bundt pan adding an additional 25 minutes to total baking time. The cake was very moist and melted in your mouth. I served unfrosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This cake is excellent! I've made it twice now, following the recipe exactly and both times I had to cook it for 20 minutes longer than the time listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Amazing and so moist, looking forward to bringing it for the next get together I go to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie_Miami
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Great recipe. I substituted half whole wheat flour, coconut oil for butter and yogurt for cream. Also just used brown sugar. Still tasted super yummy and moist. I also made a spiced chocolate ganache for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Omigoodness, I made this cake for grandma's dinner nite tonight. My grandkids are pretty picky I am believing this cake will be a huge hit. I couldn't wait for dessert to try it. This is the smoothest, yummiest chocolate scratch cake I have ever baked. I made this exactly as the recipe state except, no cream I used buttermilk, for cream in glaze I use regular flavor coffeemate creamer... omi.. so so good. beware, the glaze is to die for, if you are even a remotely addicted to caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This cake is delicious and very easy to make, although it doesn't look easy. I've never made a bunt cake before, and I was kind of nervous, but this turned about perfect and was not that difficult to prepare. Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States