Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
i have made this cake twice since seeing it last week. the first time i made it i was not satisfied with the fact that i couldn't taste pumpkin at all, other than that, recipe was great for a glazed chocolate cake. the second time i made it i substituted the can of "pumpkin" for a can of pre made "pumpkin pie filling" and got a much tastier cake, not only did the cake taste like pumpkin, but i didn't have to use pumpkin pie spice. awesome recipe, i love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! MY family and I all loved the cake! I added 1/2 c. chocolate chips to the ingredients right before placing in the pan, and it tasted delicious! Great recipe! Thanks, sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdrose
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Wow! An amazing switch-up on chocolate cake. My family, especially grandchildren, devoured the cake over a few days. I used extra dark powdered cocoa and added an additional 1/3 cup and baked cake in a bundt pan adding an additional 25 minutes to total baking time. The cake was very moist and melted in your mouth. I served unfrosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This cake is excellent! I've made it twice now, following the recipe exactly and both times I had to cook it for 20 minutes longer than the time listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Amazing and so moist, looking forward to bringing it for the next get together I go to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie_Miami
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Great recipe. I substituted half whole wheat flour, coconut oil for butter and yogurt for cream. Also just used brown sugar. Still tasted super yummy and moist. I also made a spiced chocolate ganache for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Omigoodness, I made this cake for grandma's dinner nite tonight. My grandkids are pretty picky I am believing this cake will be a huge hit. I couldn't wait for dessert to try it. This is the smoothest, yummiest chocolate scratch cake I have ever baked. I made this exactly as the recipe state except, no cream I used buttermilk, for cream in glaze I use regular flavor coffeemate creamer... omi.. so so good. beware, the glaze is to die for, if you are even a remotely addicted to caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This cake is delicious and very easy to make, although it doesn't look easy. I've never made a bunt cake before, and I was kind of nervous, but this turned about perfect and was not that difficult to prepare. Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States