Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by flowergirls
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
LOVED LOVED LOVED. I made this for thanksgiving and everyone loved it. It was very very moist. I didn't have any heavy cream so I substituted it with my vanilla coffee creamer (same amount). I also mistakenly put 2 teaspoons of baking soda which I think made my cooking time longer. But who cares if my cake tasted great!!!! I did add chocolate chips to my batter like many suggested. I did not put confectioner's sugar in the pot when cooking the topping for the cake. I instead just sifted it on top after I drizzled the topping. I also cooked my topping very early think my cake was going to be done early so I had to keep reheating it, it was not an issue at all. Do not judge the way the topping taste without the cake it taste completely different without the cake!! BUT the cake does not even need the topping!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is very good! Not a chocolate cake and not a pumkin cake but a great blend and perfect for Thanksgiving. (I just had a piece with late morning coffee!!). To make the cake dairy free I used canola oil and lactose free milk in the cake. It was delicious and moist.....yum. The spice was a surprise. For the glaze I used margerine in place of the butter. I let the glaze cool for about an hour to thicken it up. It was delicious. My only criticism is that the glaze was very soft and doesn't travel super well. I may play with the glaze a bit if I am taking it on the road to try to make it more durable. For home it is fine. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by F9flygirl
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
So moist and delicious! I read the reviews before I made it, so I upped the pumpkin spice to 2 tbsp and also found I had to bake for a full hour. I cut the icing recipe in half (it was more than enough) and also added 1/2 tsp of pumpkin spice to the icing recipe to add more pumpkin flavor. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
i have made this cake twice since seeing it last week. the first time i made it i was not satisfied with the fact that i couldn't taste pumpkin at all, other than that, recipe was great for a glazed chocolate cake. the second time i made it i substituted the can of "pumpkin" for a can of pre made "pumpkin pie filling" and got a much tastier cake, not only did the cake taste like pumpkin, but i didn't have to use pumpkin pie spice. awesome recipe, i love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! MY family and I all loved the cake! I added 1/2 c. chocolate chips to the ingredients right before placing in the pan, and it tasted delicious! Great recipe! Thanks, sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdrose
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Wow! An amazing switch-up on chocolate cake. My family, especially grandchildren, devoured the cake over a few days. I used extra dark powdered cocoa and added an additional 1/3 cup and baked cake in a bundt pan adding an additional 25 minutes to total baking time. The cake was very moist and melted in your mouth. I served unfrosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This cake is excellent! I've made it twice now, following the recipe exactly and both times I had to cook it for 20 minutes longer than the time listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Amazing and so moist, looking forward to bringing it for the next get together I go to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States