Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I always feel the need to tinker with a recipe so here goes: Increased pumpkin to 1 cup. Reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, added 1/4 cup of buttermilk in place of water and then spices as follows:2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves, eliminated allspice. Added 1/2 cup walnuts and 1/4 cup golden raisins.Didn't use the choc. chips as my husband wasn't home and he could'nt make me. He would put them in everything, a confirmed chocoholic:)Used paper muffin tin liners and preheated oven to 350 degrees and cooked the muffins for 18-20 minutes til my bakery poker came out clean. All the rest of the ingredients I used as in the recipe.House smelled spicey good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fabius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I have a daughter who is allergic to dairy, eggs whites and peanuts, and I alter every recipe i can for her. With a couple small changes, these turned out to be a great treat for her. I use a 3:1 tablespoon ratio of water:ground flax seed to replace EACH egg and i use dairy-free semi sweet mini chips. I kept everything else the same, however, I might try replacing the oil with the applesauce for added fiber and lower fat. These were a hit among all three of my children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Just made these with my daycare kids. We loved them. I added more pumpkin and no water. Used 1/2 whole wheat flour. Delicious. Wish I didn't have to send them home with the kids. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
used this recipe to make muffin tops--only baked about 16 minutes and they are yummy! makes the house smell wonderful too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Tried this this morning and made the usual substitutions to make it a little healthier: used applesauce instead of the oil, brown sugar instead of white (and cut back to 1/2 cup), and used 3/4c all purpose and 3/4c whole wheat flour. Also bumped up the spices and used a 1 tsp baking powder. Turned out ok, but still a little bland. My 2 year old ate them tho, so I probably won't up the sugar. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I doubled the cinnamon and nutmeg. Also used a full cup of pumpkin. It made 14 muffins that were delicious! I also baked at 375 for about 21 minutes. 20 might have been enough, but 400 would have been too hot, for sure. Will surely do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious. Very good for fall baking! Added a little more than recommended chocolate chips and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MistyManda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
These are awesome. I followed another review and used light packed brown sugar instead of white, a full can of pumpkin and opted for dark chocolate chips. 18 minutes in the oven and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I added the extra pumpkin and upped the spices just like chibi chef did and the flavor turned out great. I also tossed in some chopped walnuts and some extra chocolate chips. Also, 400 degrees at 20 minutes was far too much. The bottoms are nearly burnt and the chocolate near the bottom did burn. The centers taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe is amazing!!!! A definite do-again, though I followed what other people like used brown sugar instead of white and more pumpkin and cinnamon. I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned so it's a bit watery so I reduced the water in this recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 843) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States