Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
On accident, I used the whole can of pumpkin. Cookies came out great. Nice to have a different texture. I did cut back on the chocolate chips. I only used one cup thanks to another reviewer. They were right, the cookie still maintained the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is a really great recipe with amazing flavor. Definitely delicious, but it was more like cake than it was cookie. I, myself, am not a huge fan of the texture of cake, but I know my younger brother is gonna love these! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuriousThrillz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Great recipe, but I reduced the chocolate chips by nearly half and it was perfect. Two cups is far too many chocolate chips for the original serving size. I doubled the recipe but still put in only two cups and it was the perfect amount. I replaced half the oil with applesauce and I used pumpkin pie spice instead of just cinnamon. May try it with just cinnamon next time to compare, but it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7RandomNames

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Well, I did make some changes, but what I really HAD to change was the bake time. My cookies came out just right at 17 minutes, which is much longer than the prescribed. At 10, they were still mush. I also did not find it necessary to grease the baking sheet. My changes: substituted coconut oil for half the oil; substituted spelt flour for half the all purpose; I only used 1/2 the cinnamon for a more subtle flavor. My suggestions: butterscotch chips with pecans; white chocolate chips with almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I was not impressed with these "cookies." Yes, I read the reviews that say they are cake-like, so I thought I knew what to expect. Really, they are more like unattractive muffin tops. They were not sweet, and had a bit of an off-putting taste to them. I substituted some of the white sugar for brown, threw in a little nutmeg, omitted the nuts, and used mostly applesauce and just a bit of oil instead of the 1/2 cup. I'm going to try them cold from the refrigerator, since other reviewers mention that is when they are at their best. I will update this review if this changes my opinion. There are much better recipes out there for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, but that's just my perspective...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I love pumpkin so I did this. Well I made them a bit healthier by using applesauce, stevia, and wholewheat flour instead of oil, white sugar, and reg flour. They turned out amazing. I have done the original recipe and mu version now and mine are a bit dry in comparison but thats because I ate them side by side to contrast. Give the healthier modifications a shot I was delighted and ...might have made them three times withing the past two weeks.... yes i give some away :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountaindweller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I had to do something pumpkin to shake up the chocolate chip cookie. I thought these were pretty good, nice and moist. My sons ate them like crazy and even licked the plate. It was an easy recipe and the best part was they were still just as moist the next day when I had the hidden two at work. Bottom line was it passed the kid test and I will most definately make it again, double the recipe and without changing a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My family loves these cookies! I have altered the original recipe some: I substitute no sugar added applesauce for the vegetable oil and use 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of white flour (using all whole wheat makes them pretty "grainy") instead of 2 cups white flour. Also, I use a whole bag of the mini-semisweet chocolate chips. I have found (by not following the directions as closely as I should have!) that if you go ahead and add the milk and vanilla to the pumpkin mixture and the baking soda to the flour mixture, that the cookies turn out the same as when you separate them out like the original recipe says to do. They are very cake-like cookies, nice, thick and hearty and I end up having to bake my at a higher temp. and longer than the original recipe: 375 for 12 minutes, although it may just be my oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have to admit to drastically altering this recipe in hopes of lowering the calories. It came out fantastic, anyway. I used half whole wheat and half all purpose flour, subbed the oil for applesauce and the sugar for splenda. I also added some cinnamon chips and pecans. Thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizzip51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Custar, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have been making these cookies for a couple of years now and always get a lot of compliments. I do add more chocolate to mine. I melt chocolate and spread it on the bottom and drizzle it on the top. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,021) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States