Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Excellent recipe. Made a few changes according to reviews- used butter instead of shortening, used rounded teaspoons of spices and included rounded teaspoon of pumpkin spice. Used whole bag of chocolate chips. Used a generous 1 1/2 cups of pumpkin. Accidentally forgot baking powder. Still turned out amazing and were eaten in 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
These are a big hit with my family! I actually use the entire can of pumpkin and add a little more flour to 'dry' out the batter. I also use half a bag of chips for a single batch, but I rarely make a single batch! I double the recipe by using a large can of pumpkin, and double the rest of the ingredients. It's quick and easy, and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These are awesome! I make these every year around this time,they are my husbands absolute favorite! I make a few changes due to personal taste though. I use 1 1/2 cups pure pumpkin, and I use 1/2 cup butter plus 6 T. water instead of the shortening. I also like a bit more of the spicy flavor so I use 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice instead of the called for spices. You could even add another 1/2 to 1 tsp for an extra kick. I also use 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar. I use 1 cup chopped walnuts and 1 whole bag of chocolate chunks. Basically just added more of the yummy stuff!DELICIOUS! Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Very flavorful. I added a bit more pumpkin than it called for to give it more of a pumpkiny taste. I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin spice seasoning. My husband's already asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
These are so yummy!!! I saw cookies like these in a store a few days before making them. But they had scary unpronounceable ingredients. Thank you for making life a little more wholesome while staying super yummy! I've made these twice in less than a week. I altered the recipe a little. The first time I made them I used 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 1/2 cups whole-wheat pastry flour. And since I love spices I added more cinnamon and nutmeg, just a touch of ground clove and mace, about a teaspoon of cardamom, and a few sprinkles of pie spice just for good measure. (Okay so I'm a spice freak I admit it) I used 2 cups of pumpkin puree and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. The second time I baked these I had no more all-purpose flour or shortening on hand so I substituted apple sauce for the shortening and whole oat flour for the all purpose flour. I had to add more flour because the applesauce made the dough moister so I added a little more oat flour and a little bread flour. I didn't measure because I was looking for the correct texture. I also added a tablespoon of flour to the nuts and chips in a separate bowl before mixing them in so they would distribute through the dough more evenly. The first batch crumbled a lot more but was more flavorful. The second batch was still very moist but didn’t crumble. I think the extra gluten from the bread flour help hold them together more. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!!! My inner cookie monster is very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
The dough doesn't spread, so you might want to press it down like a peanut butter cookie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Thank you so much for this recipe! I was able to make the best cookies for my dad since pumpkin cookies are his favorite. I doubled the recipe and used a whole can of pumpkin and lots of semi-sweet chocolate chips. For people who think they are too cake-like, that is how they are supposed to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
These cookies are perfect to make for any occasion! They aren't too sweet, so you can eat more than one without feeling sick. I added a little extra cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Utah, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I've been making these type of cookies for years and they're always a favorite of my kids...I don't care for the pumpkin chocolate combo so I substitute the chocolate chips for cinnamon baking chips...the combination is perfect and much better than the chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aztec, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I used mini chocolate chip morsels and it was very good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States