Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I am a big fan of pumpkin chocolate chip and this came out moist and delicious. I did, however, add more chocolate chips than the recipe calls for, substitute Splenda and nixed the walnuts. Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Oh my!!! Wonderful!! I am not an experienced baker but this is an easy quick bread. I reduced the sugar to about 3/4 a cup since I don't like anything too sweet. I didn't measure the chocolate chips and walnuts either, just kind of used a handful or so of each. I don't keep all of those spices, so I just used about 1 and 1/2 heaping tsp of pumpkin pie spice and added a bit of salt. I was surprised with only baking soda and no baking powder in the ingredients, but it worked! Instead of a single loaf I used my pan of eight mini loaves which worked very well. I didn't bother with the glaze and I don't regret it, the bread itself is rich and moist. Even though I am not a big dessert eater this is one of my favorite things I've eaten in a while! It's great with vanilla ice cream. I thank you but my waist doesn't LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I used the entire can of pumpkin, and 1/2 a cup of mini chocolate chips. This turned out fine, but I had a much longer baking time. I didn't do the glaze, but I wish I would have, as I think it's missing something without it. I'm just not "wowed." Boyfriend told me he prefers pumpkin bars with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was very easy & DELICIOUS!! I made muffins and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes. I also left out the walnuts and used 1/2 Cup Mini Chocolate Chips, for chocolate throughout. My 3 year old loved the "pumkin nuffins" Will fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfry, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Wonderful! Possibly the best banana bread I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shy violet
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Best pumpkin bread recipe I've ever made! I didn't make the frosting on top (too sweet for my taste) but it turned out just how I wanted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shy violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This recipe turned out so good! I made it just a little bit healthier. I used whole wheat white flour, cut the sugar by half and instead of a whole half cup of butter, I used half fat free plain yogurt. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I did not have chocolate chips or walnuts BUT I did have Hershey's cinnamon chips in my freezer so I used a cup of those. Next time, I'd just cut to the chase and use a teaspoon and a half of the pumpkin pie spice as pumpkin pie spice includes cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger. Seems silly to use the seperate spices. I was able to get 12 regular sized muffins and one "gift" loaf out of this recipe and they turned out so pretty, nevermind tasty! Next time, I'll be sure to add pecans. I think that would be fantastic in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Tasty. Didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so made do with the cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger. Added 1/2 tsp salt, omitted the glaze. Used Ghirardelli white chocolate chips. which stayed whole, as opposed to another rater whose chips melted into the cake. I prefer muffins, so I made 12 large muffins and baked them for 15 minutes. It sure beats that 50 minutes of baking for the loaf! Nice little treat in February from the pumpkin I harvested, baked and pureed in November.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use up 3 small kobucha squashes, and this was a hit. Kobucha substitutes perfectly for pumpkin. I steamed/seeded/peeled and blended in the food processor. I substituted 1 cup oatmeal for flour to make them healthier, lowered sugar to 3/4 cup, but used probably 3/4cup choc chips, still sweet. Did not glaze mine and used cupcake instead of loaf pan. made 18 regular cupcakes and 12 mini ones. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very nice! Even rewarms nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States