Pumpkin Chipotle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I used chicken stock instead of vegetable because that is what I had and I subbed no fat evaporated milk for the half and half. We really liked the complement of the smokey heat and the creamy texture. An added bonus was I learned how to make sofrito. Thank you, we will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
YUM YUM YUM! I made it for a party and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umm Belaal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was even better than I expected it to be. I followed this exactly except used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. I got the recipe for sofrito here on AR. This soup was too spicy for my little ones, so I had to make them something else, but my 18 year-old daughter and I thought this was fantastic. I was skeptical about having this as the main course just by looking at it, but with the shredded cheese mixed in, it was unexpectedly quite filling. My daughter thinks we should add some shredded chicken, avocado, and crushed tortilla chips to the leftovers tomorrow. Sounds good to me. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Delightful and spicy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a delicious, smoky and unexpected twist on basic pumpkin soup. You can find the chipotle peppers and the sofrito in the Hispanic section of your grocery store. Save the leftover chipotles in a ziploc bag in freezer & toss them in the next time you make salsa. Evaporated milk can be subbed for the cream if you want to lighten it up (and next time may use chicken stock). Yummy recipe! Thank you, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Very good! I added garlic and minced sweet onion. Cayenne and annato seed powder for more heat and some Splenda brown sugar for a touch of sweetness. It was amazing! Two ladies at work tried it and they loved it and wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have made this soup at least 20 times in the past couple of years, and have tweaked it a bit....I like to dice an onion and saute in a TBSP of light butter until soft. I use almond milk in place of a the cream, and chipotle seasoning powder in place of the adobo. I also like mine very spicy, so I add lots of cayenne and fresh ground black pepper. The perfect topping for this is a TBSP sour cream (I use fat-free) or a dollop of goat cheese. I eat this several times a week in the winter; with the above modifications, it's actually a very low-calorie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This soup was awesome. My husband thought it was a it too spicy but I olved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Martinez
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SpiderQueen
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very tasty! I was sort of limited to what our commissary had in stock, so I just used the hot peppers we had available (sorry, don't know which kind) and adobo seasoning instead of sauce. I also like my food a little more on the spicy side like other reviewers, so I put a liberal dose of cayenne in as well. ;) I added a drizzle of the extra half-and-half on top for appearance. It turned out wonderfully and my husband was a huge fan. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiderQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I love this soup. I made a bunch with our Halloween pumpkins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States