Pumpkin Chipotle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have made this soup at least 20 times in the past couple of years, and have tweaked it a bit....I like to dice an onion and saute in a TBSP of light butter until soft. I use almond milk in place of a the cream, and chipotle seasoning powder in place of the adobo. I also like mine very spicy, so I add lots of cayenne and fresh ground black pepper. The perfect topping for this is a TBSP sour cream (I use fat-free) or a dollop of goat cheese. I eat this several times a week in the winter; with the above modifications, it's actually a very low-calorie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a delicious, smoky and unexpected twist on basic pumpkin soup. You can find the chipotle peppers and the sofrito in the Hispanic section of your grocery store. Save the leftover chipotles in a ziploc bag in freezer & toss them in the next time you make salsa. Evaporated milk can be subbed for the cream if you want to lighten it up (and next time may use chicken stock). Yummy recipe! Thank you, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Well, this is very good. I feel like it's the perfect base to be truly excellent, it's just missing a little something. I ended up only using 1 cup of 1/2 & 1/2 because the roux and the pumpkin were already creamy and thick. And frankly, the extra cream would've made it just a bit more bland. The spice is nice, the flavors good, just needs a little oomph. Maybe some good maple syrup to round out the flavors? I'm not sure. Also, I'm not super familiar with canned chipotles in adobo, but mine still had the seeds, which I put in the soup, which are a bit disconcerting when they end up in your mouth. Should I have seeded them? Would've been a mess. Great start, though, and still very good as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
We really enjoyed this soup. If you want to add more smoky pepper flavor but don't want the heat of extra chipotles, smoked paprika is a nice choice rather than regular paprika. I made this as directed, subbing chicken broth, the smoked paprika, and slightly less half-and-half. We garnished it with cilantro and avocado, which was a great contrast to the heat and spice. Thanks for the recipe - I'm looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SpiderQueen
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very tasty! I was sort of limited to what our commissary had in stock, so I just used the hot peppers we had available (sorry, don't know which kind) and adobo seasoning instead of sauce. I also like my food a little more on the spicy side like other reviewers, so I put a liberal dose of cayenne in as well. ;) I added a drizzle of the extra half-and-half on top for appearance. It turned out wonderfully and my husband was a huge fan. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiderQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I used chicken stock instead of vegetable because that is what I had and I subbed no fat evaporated milk for the half and half. We really liked the complement of the smokey heat and the creamy texture. An added bonus was I learned how to make sofrito. Thank you, we will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very good. I used the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Very good! I added garlic and minced sweet onion. Cayenne and annato seed powder for more heat and some Splenda brown sugar for a touch of sweetness. It was amazing! Two ladies at work tried it and they loved it and wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is a good start to a great soup! Without the added additions I found it to be a bit bland. I sautéed an onion before adding the flour, and after adding all ingredients I also added garlic, salt and pepper, extra chipotle pepper, and extra adobo peppers, cayenne, some brown sugar, cinnamon and a hint of nutmeg, and I also added extra With these changes, you will have the most delicious Chipotle Pumpkin Soup! (I like the heat so decrease the amount of chipotle, adobo peppers, and cayenne and it still tastes great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Tonight was a perfect night for a hot bowl of soup for dinner. This was SO good. Yes, a bit spicy from the chipotles, but nothing that would knock your socks off. I didn't know what sofrito was, so I made it without. It was still good, although I'm sure the sofrito would have added some nice taste. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States