Pumpkin Chipotle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a delicious, smoky and unexpected twist on basic pumpkin soup. You can find the chipotle peppers and the sofrito in the Hispanic section of your grocery store. Save the leftover chipotles in a ziploc bag in freezer & toss them in the next time you make salsa. Evaporated milk can be subbed for the cream if you want to lighten it up (and next time may use chicken stock). Yummy recipe! Thank you, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Well, this is very good. I feel like it's the perfect base to be truly excellent, it's just missing a little something. I ended up only using 1 cup of 1/2 & 1/2 because the roux and the pumpkin were already creamy and thick. And frankly, the extra cream would've made it just a bit more bland. The spice is nice, the flavors good, just needs a little oomph. Maybe some good maple syrup to round out the flavors? I'm not sure. Also, I'm not super familiar with canned chipotles in adobo, but mine still had the seeds, which I put in the soup, which are a bit disconcerting when they end up in your mouth. Should I have seeded them? Would've been a mess. Great start, though, and still very good as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
We really enjoyed this soup. If you want to add more smoky pepper flavor but don't want the heat of extra chipotles, smoked paprika is a nice choice rather than regular paprika. I made this as directed, subbing chicken broth, the smoked paprika, and slightly less half-and-half. We garnished it with cilantro and avocado, which was a great contrast to the heat and spice. Thanks for the recipe - I'm looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I used chicken stock instead of vegetable because that is what I had and I subbed no fat evaporated milk for the half and half. We really liked the complement of the smokey heat and the creamy texture. An added bonus was I learned how to make sofrito. Thank you, we will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I didn't use cream and found the flavour very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I followed this recipe closely but made a few changes. I used chicken stock rather than vegetable as this is what I had on hand. I also used fat free evaporated milk rather than half and half just to save on some calories. Finally, I made my own sofrito which was easy to do. Overall, I would definitely recommend this recipe. It was delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I have just made the soup base for dinner tonight, and am very pleased so far... Super fast and a wonderfully rich and smoky flavor. I also subbed chicken stock and used frozen squash puree in place of the canned pumpkin. I have left out the cream for now, but plan to strain the soup and stir in about half a cup of heavy cream just before serving. With cool and creamy avocado and cilantro on top -like another reviewer suggested- this will be a delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Very good! I added garlic and minced sweet onion. Cayenne and annato seed powder for more heat and some Splenda brown sugar for a touch of sweetness. It was amazing! Two ladies at work tried it and they loved it and wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have made this soup at least 20 times in the past couple of years, and have tweaked it a bit....I like to dice an onion and saute in a TBSP of light butter until soft. I use almond milk in place of a the cream, and chipotle seasoning powder in place of the adobo. I also like mine very spicy, so I add lots of cayenne and fresh ground black pepper. The perfect topping for this is a TBSP sour cream (I use fat-free) or a dollop of goat cheese. I eat this several times a week in the winter; with the above modifications, it's actually a very low-calorie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This soup was awesome. My husband thought it was a it too spicy but I olved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin_Martinez
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States