Pumpkin Chipotle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very bland as is; so I doubled the pumpkin and all the spices. I also added a TBS of cayenne pepper and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very good. I used the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This soup is awesome! Note of caution...the chipotle peppers in adobo sause is HOT...I added extra for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made this soup for a Thanksgiving appetizer for family that could not make it to the meal itself... wow it had alot of heat to it... used to cans of adobo sauce thinking that is what it called for... do not advice that.. put brown sugar in it to tame it down and will dollop sour cream on top each bowl just before serving... very nice to have recipe for sofrito (homemade) .... never heard of it before but will definately be using that for many other meals...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is a wonderful soup. The spice was perfect for a mexican themed dinner. We served the soup with Swiss chard tacos and the combination was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious! The adobo peppers are a nice touch and this recipe is a nice change from the standard pumpkin soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.  Mengel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This soup was awesome. My husband thought it was a it too spicy but I olved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin_Martinez
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have made this soup at least 20 times in the past couple of years, and have tweaked it a bit....I like to dice an onion and saute in a TBSP of light butter until soft. I use almond milk in place of a the cream, and chipotle seasoning powder in place of the adobo. I also like mine very spicy, so I add lots of cayenne and fresh ground black pepper. The perfect topping for this is a TBSP sour cream (I use fat-free) or a dollop of goat cheese. I eat this several times a week in the winter; with the above modifications, it's actually a very low-calorie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Very good! I added garlic and minced sweet onion. Cayenne and annato seed powder for more heat and some Splenda brown sugar for a touch of sweetness. It was amazing! Two ladies at work tried it and they loved it and wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I have just made the soup base for dinner tonight, and am very pleased so far... Super fast and a wonderfully rich and smoky flavor. I also subbed chicken stock and used frozen squash puree in place of the canned pumpkin. I have left out the cream for now, but plan to strain the soup and stir in about half a cup of heavy cream just before serving. With cool and creamy avocado and cilantro on top -like another reviewer suggested- this will be a delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States