Pumpkin Chipotle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe but instead of adding sofrito- I created my own sautéing onion, bell pepper, tomatoes, chipotle pepper, garlic and cilantro then adding in the flour and following the recipe. It was fantastic and got rave reviews from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This has a really great flavor. For those of you who are watching your fat and calories like I am I have a few suggestions. I made it with evaporated milk like a few reviewers suggested but I did not get that creamy texture that I think a soup like this should have. The next time I made it I used 3/4 cups of the evaporated milk and added about a heaping 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt and it was really good and kept that silky thick taste. I have not tried this yet but I think Lite Coconut Milk and yogurt would be good too but no quite as low on fat as evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Tonight was a perfect night for a hot bowl of soup for dinner. This was SO good. Yes, a bit spicy from the chipotles, but nothing that would knock your socks off. I didn't know what sofrito was, so I made it without. It was still good, although I'm sure the sofrito would have added some nice taste. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
One of the best soups I have ever eaten. Would not tweak the recipe one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brit0813
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Just got done making this for dinner! It has such a smokey flavor that blends well with its velvety texture. It's slightly spicy, but no overly so. I de-seeded my chipotles, which it doesn't say to do that in the instructions. I subbed evaportated milk for the half and half, since I'm trying to watch calories. I also added about 2 tablespoons of light brown sugar to the final product. My husband will love this! Served with monterey jack cheese, sour cream, sliced avacado and a sprig of fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brit0813

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Accidentally grabbed "pumpkin pie mix" instead of pumpkin purée. Didn't realize it until the can was open and going in the pot. We rolled with it, added some extra chipotle and sautéed onion and garlic. Turned out great! Next, I'll try it the way it's written, it's probably even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was even better than I expected it to be. I followed this exactly except used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. I got the recipe for sofrito here on AR. This soup was too spicy for my little ones, so I had to make them something else, but my 18 year-old daughter and I thought this was fantastic. I was skeptical about having this as the main course just by looking at it, but with the shredded cheese mixed in, it was unexpectedly quite filling. My daughter thinks we should add some shredded chicken, avocado, and crushed tortilla chips to the leftovers tomorrow. Sounds good to me. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
YUM YUM YUM! I made it for a party and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryam Dadabhoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I love this soup. I made a bunch with our Halloween pumpkins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Delightful and spicy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Brophy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States