Pumpkin Chipotle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Tonight was a perfect night for a hot bowl of soup for dinner. This was SO good. Yes, a bit spicy from the chipotles, but nothing that would knock your socks off. I didn't know what sofrito was, so I made it without. It was still good, although I'm sure the sofrito would have added some nice taste. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
One of the best soups I have ever eaten. Would not tweak the recipe one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This soup was disgusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brit0813
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Just got done making this for dinner! It has such a smokey flavor that blends well with its velvety texture. It's slightly spicy, but no overly so. I de-seeded my chipotles, which it doesn't say to do that in the instructions. I subbed evaportated milk for the half and half, since I'm trying to watch calories. I also added about 2 tablespoons of light brown sugar to the final product. My husband will love this! Served with monterey jack cheese, sour cream, sliced avacado and a sprig of fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brit0813

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Accidentally grabbed "pumpkin pie mix" instead of pumpkin purée. Didn't realize it until the can was open and going in the pot. We rolled with it, added some extra chipotle and sautéed onion and garlic. Turned out great! Next, I'll try it the way it's written, it's probably even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was even better than I expected it to be. I followed this exactly except used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. I got the recipe for sofrito here on AR. This soup was too spicy for my little ones, so I had to make them something else, but my 18 year-old daughter and I thought this was fantastic. I was skeptical about having this as the main course just by looking at it, but with the shredded cheese mixed in, it was unexpectedly quite filling. My daughter thinks we should add some shredded chicken, avocado, and crushed tortilla chips to the leftovers tomorrow. Sounds good to me. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
YUM YUM YUM! I made it for a party and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umm Belaal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I love this soup. I made a bunch with our Halloween pumpkins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Delightful and spicy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SpiderQueen
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very tasty! I was sort of limited to what our commissary had in stock, so I just used the hot peppers we had available (sorry, don't know which kind) and adobo seasoning instead of sauce. I also like my food a little more on the spicy side like other reviewers, so I put a liberal dose of cayenne in as well. ;) I added a drizzle of the extra half-and-half on top for appearance. It turned out wonderfully and my husband was a huge fan. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiderQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States