Pumpkin Chipotle Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Delicious ! Wonderful Autumn dish! I will make it again. A little on the spicy side. Next time I will add less peppers. I also added more onion to give it more flavor. My husband had two servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I would've never thought to put these flavors together, but I am so glad that someone else did. This was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was really, really good. Served it with poached chicken and fettucini. The spice level was intense but eating it slowly plus a nice glass of wine with dinner helped cut the burn. I'll definitely make this again - I can imagine it being amazing on pork chops, I don't think this is limited to pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJSayaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is really, really good! So glad to have a savory pumpkin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I thought this had really nice, balanced flavor. I only used 2 very small chipotle peppers with minimal adobo sauce, because I didn't want the heat to overpower. I did taste the cinnamon and it complemented the pepper not unlike a mole flavor, and I really liked how the pumpkin in this recipe did not slap you in the face. Served it over whole wheat gnocchi and sprinkled it with crumbled queso fresco. Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Loved this! I actually made this in a slow cooker: no butter, did the onions in the chicken broth first, then followed instructions as listed. I used Radiatore pasta. This has a big (and YUMMY) kick, but if you don't handle spicy well, you could half the chipotle. Also, if you wanted some protein, this would pair well with chicken. Great for a fall twist on pumpkin, but I will be making this year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have made this recipe at least 5 times already and I just found it last month. It is excellent, and I love how you can turn up/down the heat factor with the amount of chipotle peppers you add. I love spicy food, so I always add extra, but for those who don't do spicy like that, you can decrease what you add without compromsing the flavor. The pumpkin adds such a great counter to the chipotle. I have played around with the recipe the last two times I made it, and I've found that making a roux first helps with a thick sauce. I saute the onions and garlic in butter (maybe about 1/4 cup) and then add flour to make a thick paste. I then continue on with the recipe by adding the chicken broth, etc. Great recipe either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Instead of using the peppers in sauce, I used 1/2 tsp. chipotle pepper seasoning, water instead of broth, and used soy milk instead of cow's milk. Once you accustom yourself to the spiciness of the sauce, it is great! I prefer this to a tomato based sauce on homemade noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I am sitting here eating this and it's so good, I had to rate it before I was even finished! To make it vegan, I omitted the butter (used olive oil spray) and chicken broth (used vegan chix flavored). I used fat free soy milk, too. I also used about 3/4 of an onion, chopped. I started making this before realizing I didn't have any sage or coriander, so I just used Italian blend instead. I served it over whole wheat penne. My throat is feeling the heat and I am loving this! For anyone on weight watchers, making it without the butter makes this a Core recipe! Bonus :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Loved this recipe. Made it exactly as instructed. This is an excellent, creamy satisfying sauce that keeps the calorie count low. Delicious over both pasta and chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States