Pumpkin Chipotle Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have made this recipe at least 5 times already and I just found it last month. It is excellent, and I love how you can turn up/down the heat factor with the amount of chipotle peppers you add. I love spicy food, so I always add extra, but for those who don't do spicy like that, you can decrease what you add without compromsing the flavor. The pumpkin adds such a great counter to the chipotle. I have played around with the recipe the last two times I made it, and I've found that making a roux first helps with a thick sauce. I saute the onions and garlic in butter (maybe about 1/4 cup) and then add flour to make a thick paste. I then continue on with the recipe by adding the chicken broth, etc. Great recipe either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Loved this! I actually made this in a slow cooker: no butter, did the onions in the chicken broth first, then followed instructions as listed. I used Radiatore pasta. This has a big (and YUMMY) kick, but if you don't handle spicy well, you could half the chipotle. Also, if you wanted some protein, this would pair well with chicken. Great for a fall twist on pumpkin, but I will be making this year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I liked this quite a bit. I added more onion because I like it and didnt realize until the very end I was out of coriander! Very tasty sauce and a nice change from a tomao based one.. healthy too. I'll def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Instead of using the peppers in sauce, I used 1/2 tsp. chipotle pepper seasoning, water instead of broth, and used soy milk instead of cow's milk. Once you accustom yourself to the spiciness of the sauce, it is great! I prefer this to a tomato based sauce on homemade noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
As is, this was way too spicy. The sage was overpowering. I fixed it by adding another cup of chicken broth and another cup of milk. After simmering for another 5 minutes, this tasted wonderful. I recommend cutting all of the spices in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was really, really good. Served it with poached chicken and fettucini. The spice level was intense but eating it slowly plus a nice glass of wine with dinner helped cut the burn. I'll definitely make this again - I can imagine it being amazing on pork chops, I don't think this is limited to pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJSayaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I am sitting here eating this and it's so good, I had to rate it before I was even finished! To make it vegan, I omitted the butter (used olive oil spray) and chicken broth (used vegan chix flavored). I used fat free soy milk, too. I also used about 3/4 of an onion, chopped. I started making this before realizing I didn't have any sage or coriander, so I just used Italian blend instead. I served it over whole wheat penne. My throat is feeling the heat and I am loving this! For anyone on weight watchers, making it without the butter makes this a Core recipe! Bonus :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Unique creamy sauce if you like pumpkin; so easy. Although you can't detect the cinnamon, it's definitely a must. I added extra chipotle. I liked it! Thanks Kristincsw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This recipe was awesome. I added it to spaghetti squash to make a pasta dish, which was good. I did add it to some leftover salmon and it was such a great addition to a protein dish. I recommend adding to chicken, fish, or beef. Overall, loved the smoky, spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was pretty good. Spicy if you follow the ingredients though... Even for me. I love spicy food but I also don't want it to overpower my dish. I added some sourcream (about half a cup) and brown sugar (about a 1/4 cup or less maybe) to counteract the heat. Served over whole wheat pasta with sauteed red peppers. Delish! I recommend cutting the heat, but otherwise, very tasty dish that can easily be made vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States