Pumpkin Chipotle Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have made this recipe at least 5 times already and I just found it last month. It is excellent, and I love how you can turn up/down the heat factor with the amount of chipotle peppers you add. I love spicy food, so I always add extra, but for those who don't do spicy like that, you can decrease what you add without compromsing the flavor. The pumpkin adds such a great counter to the chipotle. I have played around with the recipe the last two times I made it, and I've found that making a roux first helps with a thick sauce. I saute the onions and garlic in butter (maybe about 1/4 cup) and then add flour to make a thick paste. I then continue on with the recipe by adding the chicken broth, etc. Great recipe either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Loved this! I actually made this in a slow cooker: no butter, did the onions in the chicken broth first, then followed instructions as listed. I used Radiatore pasta. This has a big (and YUMMY) kick, but if you don't handle spicy well, you could half the chipotle. Also, if you wanted some protein, this would pair well with chicken. Great for a fall twist on pumpkin, but I will be making this year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I liked this quite a bit. I added more onion because I like it and didnt realize until the very end I was out of coriander! Very tasty sauce and a nice change from a tomao based one.. healthy too. I'll def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Instead of using the peppers in sauce, I used 1/2 tsp. chipotle pepper seasoning, water instead of broth, and used soy milk instead of cow's milk. Once you accustom yourself to the spiciness of the sauce, it is great! I prefer this to a tomato based sauce on homemade noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
As is, this was way too spicy. The sage was overpowering. I fixed it by adding another cup of chicken broth and another cup of milk. After simmering for another 5 minutes, this tasted wonderful. I recommend cutting all of the spices in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was really, really good. Served it with poached chicken and fettucini. The spice level was intense but eating it slowly plus a nice glass of wine with dinner helped cut the burn. I'll definitely make this again - I can imagine it being amazing on pork chops, I don't think this is limited to pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJSayaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I am sitting here eating this and it's so good, I had to rate it before I was even finished! To make it vegan, I omitted the butter (used olive oil spray) and chicken broth (used vegan chix flavored). I used fat free soy milk, too. I also used about 3/4 of an onion, chopped. I started making this before realizing I didn't have any sage or coriander, so I just used Italian blend instead. I served it over whole wheat penne. My throat is feeling the heat and I am loving this! For anyone on weight watchers, making it without the butter makes this a Core recipe! Bonus :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Unique creamy sauce if you like pumpkin; so easy. Although you can't detect the cinnamon, it's definitely a must. I added extra chipotle. I liked it! Thanks Kristincsw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This recipe was awesome. I added it to spaghetti squash to make a pasta dish, which was good. I did add it to some leftover salmon and it was such a great addition to a protein dish. I recommend adding to chicken, fish, or beef. Overall, loved the smoky, spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was pretty good. Spicy if you follow the ingredients though... Even for me. I love spicy food but I also don't want it to overpower my dish. I added some sourcream (about half a cup) and brown sugar (about a 1/4 cup or less maybe) to counteract the heat. Served over whole wheat pasta with sauteed red peppers. Delish! I recommend cutting the heat, but otherwise, very tasty dish that can easily be made vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States