Pumpkin Chipotle Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have made this recipe at least 5 times already and I just found it last month. It is excellent, and I love how you can turn up/down the heat factor with the amount of chipotle peppers you add. I love spicy food, so I always add extra, but for those who don't do spicy like that, you can decrease what you add without compromsing the flavor. The pumpkin adds such a great counter to the chipotle. I have played around with the recipe the last two times I made it, and I've found that making a roux first helps with a thick sauce. I saute the onions and garlic in butter (maybe about 1/4 cup) and then add flour to make a thick paste. I then continue on with the recipe by adding the chicken broth, etc. Great recipe either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I liked this quite a bit. I added more onion because I like it and didnt realize until the very end I was out of coriander! Very tasty sauce and a nice change from a tomao based one.. healthy too. I'll def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Loved this! I actually made this in a slow cooker: no butter, did the onions in the chicken broth first, then followed instructions as listed. I used Radiatore pasta. This has a big (and YUMMY) kick, but if you don't handle spicy well, you could half the chipotle. Also, if you wanted some protein, this would pair well with chicken. Great for a fall twist on pumpkin, but I will be making this year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Instead of using the peppers in sauce, I used 1/2 tsp. chipotle pepper seasoning, water instead of broth, and used soy milk instead of cow's milk. Once you accustom yourself to the spiciness of the sauce, it is great! I prefer this to a tomato based sauce on homemade noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Unique creamy sauce if you like pumpkin; so easy. Although you can't detect the cinnamon, it's definitely a must. I added extra chipotle. I liked it! Thanks Kristincsw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was really, really good. Served it with poached chicken and fettucini. The spice level was intense but eating it slowly plus a nice glass of wine with dinner helped cut the burn. I'll definitely make this again - I can imagine it being amazing on pork chops, I don't think this is limited to pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJSayaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I was so excited about this one - it's quick and healthy and contains some of my favorite flavors. I followed the recipe to the letter, but unfortunately it was really not very good. It needed something, and I can't even figure out what would have saved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Boys love it. Interesting twist on sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Quick & easy! I only used 1/2 of a chipotle pepper and 1 teaspoon of Splenda; we like a mild heat and a sweet taste. Goes great as a main meal or a perfect side dish either hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
First off, I liked it. It had a buttery taste that I wasn't expecting. I really did like it. That being said, I won't make it again; the family was totally "thumbs down" on it - they said the taste was just too strange. Odd, since we like to play with our food and normal isn't normal in our house. My husband's comment was, "Put lots of cheese on it and then just eat the cheese." I got a lot of flack about cooking this one, but I really did like it (Oh, I just remembered, I left out the cinnamon and nutmeg) so thank you for the recipe. My menfolks are just dweebs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States