Pumpkin Chipotle Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I was so excited to make this dish because I love everything pumpkin. Well, evidently not everything. I followed the recipe exactly, but my husband nor I cared for the flavor of this dish. I don't know whether it was the peppers in the adobo sauce or the coriander (neither of which I had had before) or the combination of spices. But obviously, we are in the minority since most of the ratings are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was good but I think it lacked something to give it the "wow" I've experienced with other pumpkin or squash pasta sauces. But the idea is great. Maybe a little more garlic would help. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Sweet & Spicy Have already recommended to several other people. Very easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was so good! I had a 1/2 c. of pumpkin puree, so I searched allrecipes for something w/pumpkin as a maindish and got this. I halved the recipe, and ate it by myself on top of a small tilapia filet that I dredged in cornmeal and sauteed in a little olive oil. I ate it with kale sauteed with red bell pepper. For the seasonings, I used all the correct halved amounts, except the cinnamon and nutmeg were a bit small to measure (), so I poured a very small amount in my palms and rubbed them lightly together over the pan. I like heat, and this has a nice mild flavor of adobo...if you like spicy, you could definitely increase the chipotle chilis or add a bit of cayenne. I am soooo surprised at how good this is! I can't wait to make it for DH (tomorrow?!?!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I absolutely loved this, and I really wouldn't change a thing. I would advise that people be careful with the chipotle peppers if they are sensitive to spicy foods. This is definitely for people who are adventurous when it comes to new flavor combos. I love trying new things so I really enjoyed it; my fiance, however, wasn't as impressed and found it "too weird." Thanks for sharing this one, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was terrific! So easy and so tasty and something different from a regular tomato-based sauce. A keeper for sure. I served this with stuffed shells iv and they went great together. What a novel idea to use pumpkin purée and such great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
First off, I liked it. It had a buttery taste that I wasn't expecting. I really did like it. That being said, I won't make it again; the family was totally "thumbs down" on it - they said the taste was just too strange. Odd, since we like to play with our food and normal isn't normal in our house. My husband's comment was, "Put lots of cheese on it and then just eat the cheese." I got a lot of flack about cooking this one, but I really did like it (Oh, I just remembered, I left out the cinnamon and nutmeg) so thank you for the recipe. My menfolks are just dweebs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is really, really good! So glad to have a savory pumpkin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have made this recipe at least 5 times already and I just found it last month. It is excellent, and I love how you can turn up/down the heat factor with the amount of chipotle peppers you add. I love spicy food, so I always add extra, but for those who don't do spicy like that, you can decrease what you add without compromsing the flavor. The pumpkin adds such a great counter to the chipotle. I have played around with the recipe the last two times I made it, and I've found that making a roux first helps with a thick sauce. I saute the onions and garlic in butter (maybe about 1/4 cup) and then add flour to make a thick paste. I then continue on with the recipe by adding the chicken broth, etc. Great recipe either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Loved this! I actually made this in a slow cooker: no butter, did the onions in the chicken broth first, then followed instructions as listed. I used Radiatore pasta. This has a big (and YUMMY) kick, but if you don't handle spicy well, you could half the chipotle. Also, if you wanted some protein, this would pair well with chicken. Great for a fall twist on pumpkin, but I will be making this year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States