Pumpkin Chip Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was a great recipe- I did however add 1 cup of pumpkin and it was very moist. Made this in a 9x13 pan and melted chocolate as well for the top of the cake along with the confectioners' sugar, looked great and was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I used butter instead of margerine, a full cup of pumpkin (I was distracted--baking and talking on the phone on the same time. It didn't make a bit of difference to the recipe at all, other than making it moister.), I added a healthy splash of vanilla extract and I used Hershey's cinnamon chips instead of Hershey's chocolate chips, only because that was what I had on hand. This recipe did NOT make 24 servings. I was able to get 12 muffins out of one recipe and they were a little on the small side. 350* for 20 minutes and they were ready to go. I think the sugar could be cut back a bit. When using the glaze, it made the bread a tad too sweet. I'll cut back on the sugar in the bread next time. I would double the spices but using the glaze, it makes it right where it should be. Just beware that this recipe does NOT make the quantity it states, if you're depending on those 12 extra servings. EDITED: This bread turned out so dry. Good the first hour it came out of the oven, then it dries out fast. The next day, it was inedible. If I were to make this again, I'd add at least another cup of pumpkin. I'm sorry. I thought this was a good recipe, it just wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I was really impressed with this bread. It wasn't phenomenal right out of the oven, but the next day there was more flavor, (subtle, but tasty!) and it stays so moist! The only changes I made were; adding additional pumpkin, leaving out the cloves, and baking a full recipe in 1 loaf pan. I also skipped the glaze, although I'm sure that would be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very good pumpkin bread, although I made a few changes. First I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, and 1 1/2 c pumpkin puree instead of 3/4 c. I used 3/4 c dried cranberries instead of chocolate chips, about 1/2 c chopped pecans instead of walnuts and put maybe 1/8 c of flax seed (i just eyeballed it). The bread turned out still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My family enjoyed this bread. I did, however, increase the amount of pumpkin to about 1 cup. I probably could have used a bit more. I think next time, I'll decrease the amount of chocolate though, because I thought it was a little over-powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Photo by Tina Roselli
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Yummy! My family loved this bread. The glaze was a nice addition. I made 6 loaves and between family and a breakfast at work I am down to 1 loaf ( :
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Roselli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Made this for my daughter who never likes loaf type cakes. She couldn't get enough, packed it for lunch and it was a hit at school as well. I ground the nuts up fine-she doesn't like nuts in desserts. I didn't quite get enough to put into 2 9x5 loaf pans, did 8x4 instead. I also took the advice about extra pumpkin. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
An excellent loaf --- the first time I brought something to work that EVERYBODY raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricole1961

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This bread was okay - nothing great. It needed more of a pumpkin flavor to make it diff. Per suggestions, I used mini choc. chips - a very good idea. Also, this recipe said to split in half and it would make 2 loaves. I didn't feel there was enough batter for two, but followed instructions. As I suspected, they were two very small, flat loaves. Did anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This is an excellent recipe; however, I used 1-1 1/2 c. of pumpkin instead of 3/4 c. It was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States