Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Quick and easy to make, and VERY tasty! I don't have any kids, but I think kids would like this chili because it's not a super-spicy chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This is a great unique chili! It rather reminded me of a middle eastern dish because of the cinnamon blended with cumin. (yes, I added a bit of cumin in addition to the chili powder.) I also used tofu instead of ground beef, which is my usual vegetarian substitution in chili. A great combination of flavors to give a delicious chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I used this recipe when I was throwing a chili cookoff at my house and I decided to compete in the "Most Interesting Ingredient" category. This was a wonderful recipe, but I did change it: I used a large can of pumpkin, I substituted black beans, I added approx. 1/4 cup chili powder and doubled the cumin and added approx. 1/4 cup sugar. I actually won my own chili competition with this recipe! It's wonderful! (but some of the best recipes are ones that you alter to fit your own style!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
The whole family enjoyed this recipe. I added a little more pumkin than the recipe called for. It made the chili even more creamy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
The first thing my husband said after tasting this recipe was "you put something weird in your chili, didn't you?" He prefers my regular chili recipe - I thought it was okay. I tried it because I love different pumpkin recipes. I substituted pinto beans with jalepenos for the kidney beans. The big surprise was that my picky 5 year old son ate 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Loved it! Fall is my favorite season and this chili fast-forwarded the seasons for me. My husband thought it was too sweet, but I finished it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
I used this recipe to enter a church chili cookoff and I won for having the most original chili. It was good, but not the best. I will probably make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Entered a chili cookoff competition at work with this recipe and came in second. Everyone gave it high marks and mainly wanted to taste it due to the uniqueness of using pumpkin in a chili. Am planning to enter it in a chili competition at a local festival next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Absolutely loved this recipe.. what a great twist to the the age-old chili!! Delicious served with buttered buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This was a good hearty chili, but the Pumpkin Spice flavor was a bit too much for me. I reduced this spice by half and it still overpowered the rest of the ingredients. However, I really enjoyed the addition of the pumpkin puree'. I also added a beef bullion cube to round out the flavor of the chili. If you are looking to try something different, then this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States