Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I have only made the recipe twice, but it's always been a hit. I like a heartier chili, so I have a tendency to lessen the amount of tomato juice (by about a cup) and up the pumpkin puree (to a whole cup - or one whole can). Serve over white rice and VOILA - delicious sweet chili. I'm still tweaking the ingredients a bit to thicken / make more flavorful. I'll post more options once I've experimented with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wonderful!! Everyone is so nervous to try it, but once they do the immediately want the recipe. Tastes fantastic with greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This chili came out great! I won "Most Unique Reserve Champion" with this chili during our annual chili cook-off this year. I did tweak the recipe a bit. I added two cans of black beans, doubled the chili powder, added 2 tbls. each of white ground pepper and cayenne pepper, and doubled the pumpkin pie spice. This chili hits you with a nice sweet flavor followed by a little heat. Perfect! I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason A. Hendricks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
It is super easy to make. I made this for a Chili cookoff at work and won. I added a can of black beans, and a red pepper diced (I hate diced tomatoes, so I had to trick myself into eating them). I forgot the sugar that the recipe called for but it came out great. I'm not sure who decided the serving size, but this made a HUGE amount of chili. I recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I didn't change a thing and my whole family loved it- my only advice is to double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
3.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elangtry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was okay, but being from Texas I prefer my chili really spicy. I decided to try this because of my love for pumpkin. I used all low sodium ingredients and only added 2 tbsp of sugar because I was afraid of it being too sweet. Not bad but just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Not as spicy as I like, but tasty! Our dinner company loved it. Served it in a pumpkin in honor of Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This has been a big hit at Halloween parties 2 years in a row. I use 1 pound ground beef, 1 pound sausage (I've used regular and hot), 1 onion, serrano peppers (2), 1 can black beans, 1 can canneliini beans, V8 spicy juice, 1 can Rotel, 1 can fire roasted tomatoes, 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1 TBSP pumpkin pie spice, 1 TBSP ancho chili powder, no sugar. I cook the beef, sausage and onion on the stove and then put it all in the slow cooker on low. Yum - Enjoy - this is a spicy version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great festive twist on classic party food. A little unusual, but everyone went back for 2nds. We served in a hollowed out pumpkin for extra Halloween flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States