Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
When we were getting tired of the same old chili last fall, this was the perfect solution. It is chock full of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I love this recipe. I've made it a few times now...sometimes as written, sometimes with additions. I always tend to add at least a 1/2 tsp of cayenne and use spicey v-8 juice, as I like a kick. Last night I added a 1/2 cup of peanut butter to it and it gives it such a rich taste. Probably not an addition for everyone, but I'm loving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Delicious, even the kids liked it. I left out the green peppers, added a bit more pumpkin and spices. It won 1st place in a Habitat for Humanity chili cook-off in Lebanon, Oregon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
One of my favorite fall recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious, easy to make. I used ground turkey seasoned with a little taco seasoning and the entire can of pumpkin puree. My family and friends loved the chili. I plan to make this often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Delish! I had pumpkin pie filling that I wanted to get rid of and used this along with 3T or so extra cumin (omitting the sweeter spices called for in the recipe). The substitution made me nervous but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boogie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Turned out a bit bland, could not taste the pumpkin at all, and definitely not enough chili powder. Still, a good place to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
After a few modifications, as recommended by other reviews) I thought this dish was great! I added: 2 cloves garlic, 16 oz pumpkin puree, 2 cans black beans, and double chili powder. I am vegetarian so I nixed the meat all together. While everyone loved the dish, next time I will leave the pumpkin a little on the chunky side for texture (I made it fresh). The puree made the chili taste like the beans were mashed, which I guess is a matter of textural taste. Anyways, I am looking forward to making this again! It was fast and easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Good but missing some heat. I like sweet in savory dishes but even this was a little too sweet for me. If I try again, I will leave out the sugar and add some chili powder. As for the pumpkin, you really couldn't taste it but it added a lovely creamy texture. Makes me want to try pumpkin puree in other stews/soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is a winner. I too changed just a couple of things. I used more pumpkin, almost a whole can, and added cayenne pepper for a kick. I didn't have tomato juice on hand but had bloody-mary mix and it worked just great! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States