Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Recipe looks great, but I haven't yet prepared it. Although I appreciate the ideas from reviewers who make changes, I would appreciate it more if they would: 1) prepare the recipe as written first, 2) then prepare the recipe using their own creativity, 3) and lastly review it after testing both versions. I really hate having to sift through all the 5 star reviews of people rating their own recipes highly. I'd like to see the ratings of the original recipe first. 3 stars only because I haven't prepared the recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is a really good recipe, but it should say season to taste because it is pretty bland. I like to add salt and pepper, and more pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I had to tweak it too much to give it any more stars. It was extremely bland. I will definitely not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
We have had an annual chili party at our farm for 28 years. We cook three kinds of chili, 15 gallons of each in cast iron kettles over an open fire. We serve one kettle of hot spiced, one kettle of mild spiced, and one kettle of a specialty chili. Each year has been a different specialty recipe with this year being this Pumpkin recipe. We had over 125 guests and the Pumpkin received the most compliments of any specialty chili we have featured. It was curiously delicious and very appropriate for the Fall season. Our rule is to never repeat a recipe but that may have to change!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
So I made quite a few changes, here's what I did: Ingredients: 2 lbs 80% lean 20% fat Ground Beef 1 15 oz can Bush's Dark Kidney Beans 1 15 oz can Bush's Medium Chili Beans 1 Green Bell Pepper 2 Jalapeno Peppers 1 yellow onion 2 cloves minced Garlic 10 oz Pumpkin Puree (pureed the pumpkin myself) 46 oz Tomato Juice 28 oz diced tomatoes 2 1/2 tbsp. Chili Powder 1 tbsp. Ground Cumin 1/2 tsp. Cayenne Pepper 2 tsp. Salt 1/2 tbsp. Pumpkin Pie Spice 1 tbsp. Sugar. With these changes, the chili turned out really good, even better the next day. I thought a 1/4 c of sugar would have been too sweet, and there wasn't enough spices in the orginal recipe. I'd say if you want a medium - low heat in a chili this is the way to go. Thanks for the recipe, got rid of my leftover pumpkin puree. And good luck cooks of allrecipe.com :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Made this tonight and really liked it! I ended up adding more veggies (I had some to use up). I realized as we were eating dinner that I totally forgot the sugar. Oops! It was still very tasty--loved the way the pumpkin pie spice complimented the chili powder (and cumin--I love cumin so I added @1tsp). I didn't have tomato juice so I put crushed tomatoes in the food processor & added water. I didn't end up using all of it-no more room in the pot and I like a thicker consistency. But I am so glad I tried this--I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
As-is, the recipe was very bland, so I followed the recommendations of other reviewers (added the rest of the can of pumpkin, added 2tsp cayenne and 2tsp cumin) and it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I decreased the ground beef to 1 lb. since I prefer a veggie/bean based chili. I used 1 lg. onion, 4 green chili peppers, 15.5 oz. drained and rinsed black beans, 15 oz. organic tri-beans drained and rinsed, 23 oz. spicy V8 juice, 14.5 oz. diced tomatoes with juice, 10 oz. original Rotel with juice, 1/2 c. heaping pumpkin puree, 1 T. pumpkin pie spice, 1 T. chili powder and 2 T. sugar. My intent was not to alter to the recipe only use what in my cupboards since I'm moving. Initially, I omitted the sugar but it was definitely missing something so I added 2T. and it hit the mark. If you want a soupier chili, keep the lid on while simmering otherwise remove the lid. I will store in the fridge overnight and then separate into Ziploc bags to freeze for later. I will definitely serve over rice or noodles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I make this recipe every year! It's one of our fall staples. Only things I change are I'll add a little extra pumpkin puree, use spicy V8 instead of tomato juice, add in some dried red pepper, sub red bell pepper for green, sub 1 can of beans for sweet potatoes, and use turkey instead of beef. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Like the concept of this recipe. My husband and toddler enjoyed it. Followed the recommendations of other reviewers and added additional pumpkin and spices. We like things flavorful. I didn't have pumpkin spice, so I followed recommendations for spice substitute (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves). The final results had a strange after taste, so it my be that I was heavy handed with one of the seasons (like cloves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States