Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This is really delicious, and pretty healthy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Tried this 'cause it just sounds like Fall. It's easy and tastes OK. We were glad to try it, but probably will not do it again...he likes my regular chili better. I did learn from the recipe to use tomato juice instead of tomato paste and water...much easier. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is the definition of fall, it smells so delicious, and tastes great too. It is very mild, but flavorful. I didn't add any sugar and don't know that I would. If you are looking for your "typical" chili, don't try this, but if you want something different and fun, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I definitely wouldn't ue all of the juice, it makes it way too watery for chili. I would use half of what the recipe calls for. I also put half of the sugar in the chili and it was still too sweet. I used the whole can of pumpkin and liked the texture. i added curry, salt, and pepper to this recipe and it was an interesting addition. It did win our chili cook off, though. Just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I thought this sounded funky but wanted to try it. Glad I did. The pumpkin flavor wasn't very strong. I didn't add sugar b/c I assumed it really wouldn't need it. Second batch I made I added red pepper flakes which took over the that pumpkin flavor. First try, I used half a green pepper and it overpowered the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Linde
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Don't use all of the tomato juice. The pumpkin taste is not very strong, so don't be afraid. The chili is pretty sweet, so use less sugar if you don't like sweet chili. Pretty good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I LOVE pumpkin recipes so I had to try this out. I used ground turkey instead of beef, but other than that, did not change a thing. I agree with others - the spices are pretty bland, which would make it a good kid's chili. I am not a huge fan of spicy food, but I still found myself adding a LOT more chili powder and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes after the first taste. I was disappointed that the pumpkin flavor was mostly lost unless I really looked for it - and the can of tomato juice was HUGE... I think I am used to my chili being a bit thicker. This is by no means a bad recipe - but I would probably choose one of my other favorite chili recipes before I chose this one again! I might try adding pumpkin to my favorite chili recipe on this site: "Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Chili."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was so good... prefect for a fall evening. I did make a couple changes based on other reviews. I used a whole can of pumpkin, 2 cans of tomato sauce instead of tomato juice and 1 pack of taco season (just because I realized I was out of chili powder 3/4 of the way thorugh putting it all together). I also cut back on the sugar just a bit. Will certainly be making this often this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StringBean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very good chili with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was the best chili I have ever eaten. I'm not a big chili fan but THIS was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States