Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
The chili was awesome! I added some corn, white kidney beans and black beans. Used Tomato Sauce instead of Juice and petite diced tomatoes with green chilies. I did not use hamburger but stew meat instead. After about 4 hours in the crock pot the beef was very tender. The substitution of diced tomatoes with green chilies made it a little hot for my wife. I, however, thought it was just spicy enough. I served it with a dollop of sour cream and a side of corn chips. I would recommend this recipe wholeheartedly! After 2 bowls I am full, happy and now sleepy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CountryCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Awesome! I made this for a Halloween Party we had and people loved it. My modifications: NO tomato juice. I have tomato juice in chili. Instead I used 2 quarts of canned tomatoes. I also used 1/8 cup of sugar (any more would have killed people with sweetness). I used about 2.5 tablespoons of chili powder, and the 3/4 can of pumpkin puree. GOod stuff. My husband liked it and he doesn't normally like chili. Will make instead of my 'normal chili from now on. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin
Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this for a party at work and it was a huge hit!!! I made a few substitutions as other people have done as well: I only used 1 pound of ground beef, and added 2 cans of black beans I used 2 Tbsp chili powder and added 1 tea cumin and 1 tea garlic salt Only used 2 Tbsp of sugar I like my chili a little on the thicker side so I used 2 15 oz cans of tomato sauce and 2 cans full of water. Will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is great stuff! I'm making it right now for a Halloween-themed potluck contest and it's so good I'm not waiting for the results to post my review. Who would have thought a chili with such an unusual ingredient would come out so good. I was leery of the pumpkin pie spice too but it really blends in well. Of course I did a few things differently. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef (DH doesn't eat beef), doubled the amount of pumpkin and chili powder, and added garlic, cumin and a little cayenne pepper. In my opinion, there's no way sugar could possibly improve this dish (to the contrary!) so I eliminated it entirely. I'll make it exactly the same way next time cuz there definitely will be a next time. UPDATE: I've now made this several more times and it comes out great every time. It even inspired me to come up with my own dish, a coconut-pumpkin curry with shrimp....delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I was very excited to try this seasonal chili. My husband liked it, but i was not ecstatic about it. I feel like there could have been more ingredients to give the chili a less soupy feel and the recipe could have called for more pumpkin! I'll make again, but i'll add more beans, some cut pumpkin and more vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is my new favorite chili. I did modify it by increasing the amount of chili powder to 2 tbsps, I added 2 tsps of cumin, substituted brown sugar for white sugar, and used the easy pumpkin puree which already had the pumpkin pie spices added to it. I also took the advice of another poster and added 2 cloves of garlic. It is a little bit on the sweet side, but it's an unique twist that brings something special to table. Thanks for such a great recipe. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Loved this chili. It is sweet, but I liked it that way. My kids enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was great just a bit sweet and not spicy. I fixed just as directed. However, I next time I will make some changes. I will leave out the sugar and add more chili powder. It was just not spicy enough for me. Even my husband who does not like spicy thought it was too sweet. It was a hardy meal and will for sure cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Floydada, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was a Big hit at a chili cook-off I just participated in, we had people from all over the place asking if this was the pumpkin chili booth they'd been hearing about. I added a little cayanne and cummin just to give it some heat and chili flavor but it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Came out think and dry. Not a big hit at the party I brought it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Voss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States