Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is pretty good! I still prefer a more traditional chili, but I would make this again! I had to change a few things...I cut the recipe in half and I used a whole red bell pepper to keep with the color scheme ;) I didn't have any tomato juice so I used one 15 ounce can of tomato sauce. I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice so I subbed cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. I used 2 cups of real pumpkin puree instead of canned. and omitted the sugar and used 2 tablespoons of sugar free Hungry Jack syrup instead. Turned out very good! I'm on a diet and can't have sugar and the syrup added a nice flavor to the pumpkin. I also added about a 1/2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! I did change a few things based on others reviews. I used 15 oz of tomato sauce instead of the tomato juice, one can of Rotel tomatoes to add some extra heat and only 2 tsp of sugar. I also used ground turkey instead of the hamburger and 2 cans of black beans. Everyone loved it! Will *definitely* make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious and not too sweet, but sweet enough. Great great great for fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesivotchka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Delicious! I followed the directions exactly and I was worried that it was going to be too sweet. Luckily my fears were quickly proved wrong with the first bite. The pumpkin flavor is subtle and just enough to make this the perfect fall dish. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This sounded so good i had to try it! This was pretty good but i make, the best chili and i like mine better. Im glad i tryed it. Thanks for sharing ,will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
How amazing! I've been having the notion to add pumpkin to chili lately. I started a pot full, then did a search and found this recipe. I'd already added the half the listed ingredients, and so proceeded with confidence. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Wonderful flavor! Try it with a dollop of sour cream, heavenly! It turned out a little "soupy" for me, next time, I'll cut down on the amount of tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is a very good chili recipe, and the pumpkin flavor is not obvious or overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
It was pretty good. It was fun to try something different. It might make a good addition to a themed meal. I prefer regular chili, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
It was very good. I used 1 lb ground turkey and 1 lb ground beef. It got rave reviews at our chili cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States