Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Not as spicy as I like, but tasty! Our dinner company loved it. Served it in a pumpkin in honor of Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This has been a big hit at Halloween parties 2 years in a row. I use 1 pound ground beef, 1 pound sausage (I've used regular and hot), 1 onion, serrano peppers (2), 1 can black beans, 1 can canneliini beans, V8 spicy juice, 1 can Rotel, 1 can fire roasted tomatoes, 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1 TBSP pumpkin pie spice, 1 TBSP ancho chili powder, no sugar. I cook the beef, sausage and onion on the stove and then put it all in the slow cooker on low. Yum - Enjoy - this is a spicy version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great festive twist on classic party food. A little unusual, but everyone went back for 2nds. We served in a hollowed out pumpkin for extra Halloween flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was awesome! I used 1# of beef and 1 cup of dry wheat pasta and cooked it until the pasta was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Delish; I make this every year for Halloween using black beans instead of kidney beans and a 15 oz. can of pumpkin puree. I increase the chili powder to 2 tablespoons, and decrease the white sugar to 1 - 2 tablespoons or to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megneer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great chili; left it in the crock pot and went down the the Circleville Pumpkin Show. It was nice to come home to. I used 1 can of kidney beans and also cooked some black beans. I didn't measure the pumpkin but I'd guess I added more like 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This recipe is great and easy. I changed things by eliminating the onion, adding an entire can of pumpkin, 1/8 cup sugar, 1/2 tablespoon chili powder, 1 can of black beans, 1 can of kidney beans and added 1/4 tablespoon cayenne. Perfect for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I was surprised by how much I liked this! I made the recipe almost exactly as written, but I made it vegetarian by leaving out the beef and putting 1 cup extra beans in the blender with 1 cup of the tomato juice and then adding it to the chili. This gives it a slightly meaty texture. I think I'll use less tomato next time, though. It's a bit too much with the diced tomatoes AND the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is pretty good! I still prefer a more traditional chili, but I would make this again! I had to change a few things...I cut the recipe in half and I used a whole red bell pepper to keep with the color scheme ;) I didn't have any tomato juice so I used one 15 ounce can of tomato sauce. I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice so I subbed cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. I used 2 cups of real pumpkin puree instead of canned. and omitted the sugar and used 2 tablespoons of sugar free Hungry Jack syrup instead. Turned out very good! I'm on a diet and can't have sugar and the syrup added a nice flavor to the pumpkin. I also added about a 1/2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States