Pumpkin Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was okay, but being from Texas I prefer my chili really spicy. I decided to try this because of my love for pumpkin. I used all low sodium ingredients and only added 2 tbsp of sugar because I was afraid of it being too sweet. Not bad but just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Not as spicy as I like, but tasty! Our dinner company loved it. Served it in a pumpkin in honor of Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This has been a big hit at Halloween parties 2 years in a row. I use 1 pound ground beef, 1 pound sausage (I've used regular and hot), 1 onion, serrano peppers (2), 1 can black beans, 1 can canneliini beans, V8 spicy juice, 1 can Rotel, 1 can fire roasted tomatoes, 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1 TBSP pumpkin pie spice, 1 TBSP ancho chili powder, no sugar. I cook the beef, sausage and onion on the stove and then put it all in the slow cooker on low. Yum - Enjoy - this is a spicy version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great festive twist on classic party food. A little unusual, but everyone went back for 2nds. We served in a hollowed out pumpkin for extra Halloween flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was awesome! I used 1# of beef and 1 cup of dry wheat pasta and cooked it until the pasta was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Delish; I make this every year for Halloween using black beans instead of kidney beans and a 15 oz. can of pumpkin puree. I increase the chili powder to 2 tablespoons, and decrease the white sugar to 1 - 2 tablespoons or to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megneer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great chili; left it in the crock pot and went down the the Circleville Pumpkin Show. It was nice to come home to. I used 1 can of kidney beans and also cooked some black beans. I didn't measure the pumpkin but I'd guess I added more like 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This recipe is great and easy. I changed things by eliminating the onion, adding an entire can of pumpkin, 1/8 cup sugar, 1/2 tablespoon chili powder, 1 can of black beans, 1 can of kidney beans and added 1/4 tablespoon cayenne. Perfect for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I was surprised by how much I liked this! I made the recipe almost exactly as written, but I made it vegetarian by leaving out the beef and putting 1 cup extra beans in the blender with 1 cup of the tomato juice and then adding it to the chili. This gives it a slightly meaty texture. I think I'll use less tomato next time, though. It's a bit too much with the diced tomatoes AND the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States