Pumpkin Chiffon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Thanks for sharing a great recipe! Messed up and added all the sugar in step 2, was able to get some back out. Added what I rescued out to the egg whites in step 4 and it still turned out! It firmed up after chilling and was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
What this recipe is lacking is instructions! The gelatin has to be dissolved in boiling water, the filling needs to cool before adding the eggs, and the eggs need to be REALLY stiff before folding them into the pumpkin mixture. I used 3/4 cup of sugar and still found it a bit too sweet, and used 1/2 tsp salt to balance it. I used cinnamon, ginger and cloves for spices and pasturized egg whites. LOVED it - reminded me of the pie my Aunt made when I was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This pie is SO light a fluffy! I've never much cared for regular pumpkin pie, it's too heavy after a big holiday meal, this pie is the perfect replacement! exact same flavor but more of a mousse consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent. Allow 15 minutes more total prep and cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is a great recipe. My Mom made it this way for years; nobody ever had a problem with the raw egg whites. However, if you're concerned about them, you can buy pasturized egg whites at some grocery stores. Use those instead. The powdered egg whites are not very good at all. Also, it works well with a cup of sugar instead of 1 1/4 cups. A bit less sweet, but after a big Thanksgiving meal, that's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is the absolute best recipe. I made this a few years ago, and then couldn't remember where I found it. My husband has been asking for it ever since! The only thing is the raw eggs, but if there's someone there who can't eat it, there's usually another dessert they can have. It's worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Delicious pie, and no need to worry about the eggs, they do get cooked in the process!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've used this recipe for years. I don't like regular pumpkin pie much, but this one is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My grandmother would make a pumpkin chiffon pie for Thanksgiving. I remembered it being the only pumpkin pie I ever really liked. This particular recipe yielded the BEST PUMPKIN PIE EVER!!!!!! It took some effort, but in the end it was light, fluffy, pumpkin-y, heaven. I will try to post a pic of our creation if I can...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Pretty much the same recipe as my Grandmother's Betty Crocker cook book from the 1950s! You do want your pumpkin mixture to cool until it's just warm so you don't end up with your egg whites cooking into solid clumps before you can get them folded together. My favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Carnation, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States