Pumpkin Chiffon Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This is the exact recipe my family has used for generations. The only thing we do differently is to use a gingersnap crust, instead of a regular pie crust. To make gingersnap crust, make like you would any other cookie crust. Smush up 22 cookies until they are very fine, and add 1/2 stick melted butter- the consistancy should be like wet sand. Push in bottom and up sides of pie pan and bake at 350 for 5 or so minutes with pie weights, or other way to keep the crust flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
My family has been making this recipe for three generations at Christmas and Thanksgiving. VERY GOOD recipe. Make sure when cooking over double boiler, that you let all of the water cook out. My mom uses a paper towel to absorb some of the water. It helps to keep the crust from becoming soggy. THIS is the ONLY recipe for pumpkin pie that we have ever used. A small difference in my recipe is the cooking directions. They are... Beat egg yolks and 1/2 cup sugar (add gradually) until thick. Add pumpkin, milk, salt and spices. Cook in double boiler until real thick. COOL. Add gelatine stiffened in cold water (stir until gelatine dissolves. Add egg whites with remaining 1/2 cup sugar (merangue) Fold into pumpkin mixture. Pour mixture into cooled baked shell and chill. If desired, top with sweetened, whipped cream. Very good. Give it a try. Might take a few times (practice) to get it right, but don't give up because this is the Best when done right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This pie was a big hit at Thanksgiving. My family isn't big on traditional pumpkin pie, but they LOVED LOVED this pie. It was light and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
People who don't like pumpkin pie will like this. Delicious. The first time I made it, it looked bizarre and I almost threw it out - but the next day it looked fine and tasted delicious! Every time I have made it since then, it has looked normal...not sure what happened that first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVORYCASSIOPEIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Fluffy and smooth consistency. Nice flavor. Made this twice so far, once with ginger snap crust and once with pastry pie crust. Either way, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My great-aunt has made this pie for our Thanksgiving lunch every year since long before I was even born. I don't like regular pumpkin pie, but this one is different--so light and fluffy. Plus she makes an impossibly thin, light crust that complements it amazingly (I don't know how she does it). The ginger snap crust another reviewer mentioned sounds delicious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really good, not exactly what I expected. But like I said it was good. It was a milder, sweeter version of a pumpkin pie. The texture was light and creamy. I would have liked a little more filling, as it filled up a little low, next time I will try to use a smaller pie tin. I just boiled water in a large pan and cooked the egg yolk in a smaller pan on top of it and it turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Perhaps I did something wrong, but having made chiffon pies numerous times in the past, I cannot see what could have happened. I made this exactly as written, yet the pumpkin flavor was far too mild, and all we could taste was the gelatin. We actually threw the whole pie out after a few unhappy bites. I really wanted to like this, so if it's better the second go around, I will definitely update my review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Thanksgiving isnt Thanksgiving without pumkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a nice variation for pumpkin pie, lots of light airy flavor and texture. My family is still going to stick with traditional, but this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States