Pumpkin Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
great basic pumpkin cheescake. Even my husband who is not a pumpkin fan liked it. It is a very mild pumpkin flavor. Next time I will play around with the amount of pumpkin in it and add a little extra of the spices in the batter. Great recipe though. EDIT: Ok I've perfected this recipe for my family. While a good recipe it was a little mild/bland so I now do the following: I add 3/4 tsp cinnamon to the crust mixture, use 3-8oz packages of cream cheese, 1-16 oz can of pumpkin plus 1/4 cup (the leftover pumpkin freezes well), 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp nutmeg and 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
i made this without the sour cream topping so maybe that's why i didn't LOVE it.. but, yeah.. pretty plain. could've used more sugar actually. unless you were going for a very "healthy taste". i added a teaspoon of vanilla to the filling bc thats how i usually like my pumpkin cheesecakes. the texture was very light and airy and almost dissolved the second you put it in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I looove Cheesecake! But I'm not a huge fan of Pumpkin Pie...so I thought this was a great solution!! So I didn't add all the pumpkin suggested. And I added Bourbon to the Sour Cream topping. It was Awesome! I brought some to work and the ladies went nuts! It will be cooked next week for Thanksgiving! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I hardly ever bake because I don't really care for sweets(yeah i'm weird), but this was frickin' awesome in my opinion. And as for the sour cream topping, I think it really makes the cake. BUT I did add a touch of the nutmeg, ginger, and cinnamon to the topping as well to round out the flavor. DELICIOUS =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberln

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
It is only fair that I mention that I do have a huge sweet tooth and usually make very rich and sweet desserts. The texture and presentation of this is wonderful, but if I were to ever make this recipe again I would double the sugar, especially in the sour cream topping, and add more of the spices. My sister suggested that drizzling it with caramel sauce might help. I agree. But if you don't mind only mildly sweet desserts then this would probably be fine for you, for me it just was not even close to sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila Lyons-Werner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
My whole family loved this recipe!! It was the perfect light, airy cheesecake. I did add cloves and a little extra of the other spices. What a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
As almost everyone does, I modified this a bit. I used gingersnap cookies for the crust and I added some cinnamon and brown sugar to the sour cream topping for more flavor, color and sweetness. The only reason I didn't give this recipe a "5" is because the crust was too greasy and I like a cheesecake crust to be more substantial, and come up the sides of the pan. I would add about 50% more crumbs to improve the butter ratio. Also, because I liked the ginger snap taste, next time I would garnish with some cookie crumbs and/or add ginger to the sour cream as well. The texture and flavor of the filling was excellent though - not too sweet, and light and airy, for a cheesecake. If you like your cheescakes more dense though - go for a recipe with more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
really good!! I used half the pumpkin by accident. Still really good. Also only had light sour cream. Probably would have been better with regular fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I've been making this cheese cake for the past 3 Thanksgivings and Christmases. Everyone loves it. The sour cream topping weirded everyone out the first time, so as requested, I left it off the second time and everyone asked for it back. It really does add something that cool whip doesn't. My one big mistake with this recipe was sharing it with friends that don't normally come to dinner. Now I have to triple it so I have enough for everyone, and I get 2 turkey dinners per holiday instead of just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
The flavor was great, however the consistancy was not as firm as I would have liked. I also left off the sour cream topping in favor of a new york style cheese cake recipe for the top layer. I would possibly increas baking time or add more cream cheese to get the "cheesecake" texture. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wernersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States