Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
has a great flavor and i love the crust that goes with it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
If I could give this recipe 6 stars, I would! Omg, this was fabulous. I have to say that I didn't take the time to get gingersnaps or nuts, so I made my own graham cracker crust. Even with that change, the cheesecake was great. Everyone who ate it was blown away and I will SURELY make this again in the future. One more thing, I didn't have any "maple" syrup so I just used the plain old pancake/waffel syrup I had in my pantry and I couldn't tell the difference, it came out fine. All in all, this will be a family tradition from now on every Fall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is the BEST cheesecake! I altered recipe as follows, turned out PERFECT: Crust: -Omitted brown sugar -4 Tbs butter (instead of 6) -Pecans instead of hazelnuts Cake: -Use REAL CREAM CHEESE (w/o gums or stabilizers; comes in a tube instead of brick and is naturally soft) -Use 1/2 FRESH ROASTED PUMPKIN (instead of canned); cut a medium pumpkin in 1/2, scoop out seeds and brush w/ a little butter & salt, roast at 350 for one hour, scoop out of shell & into cream cheese mixture (no electric tools needed, a wooden spatula works great!) -REDUCE SUGAR - use 1/2 cup dark brown sugar & 1/2 cup grade B organic maple syrup -Use 1/3 cup sour cream instead of heavy cream -Use 1/2 tsp vanilla powder instead of extract (to eliminate alcohol taste) -REDUCE EGGS - use 2 eggs instead of 4. In general I've found that cakes can be made w/ 1/2 the amount of sugar/butter/eggs called for and taste much better! In this I love the flavor & texture of FRESH pumpkin! Showcase the star ingredient, don't drown it out w/ sugar & eggs. Seriously, this tastes so much better with REAL FRESH ingredients - real cream cheese (instead of hard, sticky, gummy bricks of cheese) and FRESH ROASTED pumpkin (instead of slimy runny canned pumpkin). Give it a try! Also, I turned the oven off after about an hour and 20 minutes and just let it continue cooking/cooling for another 45 minutes or so in the oven - no cracking or sinking. A work of art!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
WOW. Just as is. The chosen cookie can make a difference in spice combination of course. I like Stauffer's brand gingersnaps. Served this with vanilla bean whipped cream (I keep 10x sugar on hand with snipped beans for fragrance and flavor). Oh my!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Photo by Desert Moon
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
One of the best cheesecakes I have ever made/had. It is so very rich and creamy. I love both pumpkin & cheesecake so this was a perfect combination! I am not a baker but after seeing this, I just had to try it. We absolutely loved it! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Moon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made this cheesecake into muffin cups like someone had suggested. Honestly, it didn't do much for me. I probably wouldn't use this recipe again. Maybe it's better when it's a full cheesecake rather than muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Gave this a 3 star rating only because it works more as a base recipe than the real deal (but if I were a first time cheesecake maker, this would be a great recipe!). I just made this tonight as individual cheesecakes in a muffin pan and they were tasty but missing something. I'll definitely try this again but I'll be sure to follow some of the modifications listed in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
DEElish... we really enjoyed this for our thanksgiving dinner! Didn't have hazelnuts so I used walnuts..served with whipcream maple flavoured. Next time I would double spice and crust..just for our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I didn't have any hazelnuts so I used walnuts instead. The gingersnaps really make this an interesting cheesecake. It's a wondeful fall treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was really pretty good but I didn't like the allspice taste or maybe it was the maple syrup. I did use the nuts but used vanilla wafers as gingersnaps is not my favorite. If I try it again I will use corn syrup, some nutmeg and dash of cloves. An old trick my Mom always did was separate eggs; whip whites and than fold in. It has the same flavor but a lighter texture. I have my own version of a water bath: I put in a cold oven a a broiler pan on bottom shelf; fill with water and as the oven gets hot so does the water. This makes it moist without wrapping the bottom of cheesecake pan. I also mixed 1 cup sour cream with 2 T. sugar; spread over hot cheese cake, returned to oven and baked 5 min. more. Next time I would double topping but use only 3 T. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States