Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving bc I'm not a huge fan of pecan or plain pumpkin pie. This will be a holiday staple in our house now! Gingersnap crust is a wonderful compliment to the pumpkin yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Excellent great alternative to pumpkin pie. I followed the recipe exactly and had great results. I have made this several times- I have topped it with a sweetened sour cream topping and that works well for a little twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I loved this cheese cake! It was my very first I had ever made and I was impressed! Very good... it didn't last very long in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I modified the recipe based on member suggestions, with mixed results. Positives: the crust was simple and its flavor was great. I used a very crisp, thin ginger snap (easy to crush with a rolling pin after placing in a Ziploc) and no nuts b/c of an allergy. Negatives: there was definitely too much butter in the crust (at least a tablespoon seeped out of the foil when I took that off) and even though I cooked it 75 min. and also left it in the oven for an hour as many members suggested, the cheesecake was still too soft in the center. Also, it might just be that I prefer regular cheesecake to the pumpkin, but the flavor wasn't the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
It was good, but I think next time I'm going to turn the heat down a bit to avoid having to add water to the water bath I use when baking cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
A big hit this Christmas. Beautiful recipe. If you are having trouble with cracks wrap your spring form in tin foil and bake in a shallow water bath. Remember- when using a water bath always start with hot water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsey

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used the water bath,my cheesecake did not crack,it came out beautiful. The crust was so soggy a couple days after,too greasy. I cut down the butter after reviews,so I guess it needs to cut down more and use more gingersnaps. Why grease when there is so much grease already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this for Christmas Eve and it got rave reviews. The crust makes this cheesecake! I left out the hazelnuts and used 2 cups gingersnaps. I also used one additional cream cheese and added more spices as I had to fill a 10 inch springform pan. I baked it in a water bath for 75 minutes and then left it in the oven to cool for an hour. I wrapped the pan with foil and an oven turkey bag for extra measure to prevent it from getting wet in the water bath. The cheesecake came out perfect-no cracks and easily cut into pieces which I topped with fresh whipped cream and a sprinkle of nutmeg. The cheesecake had an wonderful texture--very smooth and creamy. Next time I will make the crust after making my own gingersnaps. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Did not like this at all. May just be personal preference or my inexperience making cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was tasty, but not amazing. Made it for tanksgiving. The butter in the crust was too much, as it came out very greasy. Unfortunately, nobody wanted to take the rest of this home with the leftovers. My mom told me she thought it was too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States