Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I've made this twice. Once as directed and once in a mini muffin tray. Both times it got rave reviews. I substituted regular syrup for maple since I didn't have maple. I would also recommend less butter in the crust. Both times I made mine, much of the butter ended up seeping out of the springform while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Boston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
To tell you the truth is really good, but my party liked it a lot more than I did and it vanished within hours! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
WOW! I have never made a cheesecake in my life. This was quite possibly the best that I have ever eaten though and it was my own!!!!! I actually was too anxious to try it so I did while it was still warm and it was gross. BUT after it SET UP OVERNIGHT like instructed-- it was AMAZING!!! I will make this one time and time again! It's a new fav!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This tasted really good but was way more time consuming than I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this to go with Thanksgiving dinner & it was amazing! I made it in a regular pie dish & ended up only needing 1/2 the filling. Next time I'll cut the filling ingredients in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
****** Well, my cworkers say this is a keeper and I have to agree. I've tried others, but reallike this one a lot. I couldn't find hazelnuts, so I also used pecans, which were fine. I have made many cheesecakes, but this is the first one I made that uses maple syrup. I was skeptical, but it was really great. I love this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROUNYDGRL1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
4.5 stars. The crust gets soggy even though I used only 4 T butter as some reviewers suggested. I think I'll make my standard graham cracker crust next time. This cake gets better as the days go by, even though I prepared it on Tuesday for Thanksgiving, I would suggest making it at least three days ahead for more intense cheese flavor. I have baked maybe half a dozen cheesecakes in my life and I've always had cracking problems, even tjough I used the cool down gradually/wooden spoon handle method. When I was 20, I baked a cake in a water bath and it leaked into the pan and I've always been frightened of using a water bath again. Well, this time I tried a water bath and used a tip from a reviewer--use the 18" wide aluminium foil (don't skimp and get the cheap kind--get the heavy duty Reynold's) and the cheese cake was perfect. Looked beautiful, no cracking. I cooked it on 325 F for 90 min, then 60 min with the door cracked open and the oven off. Grease the sides of the pan well so it won't stick to the sides when it expands and contracts and crack the edges. There's a great video on this site that explains cheesecakes in a H2o bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was by far the most sumptious cheesecake I have ever made! We are a gluten free family so I used Midal's GF gingersnap cookies and almond flour for the crust. As for the cheesecake part I forgot to buy heavy cream and allspice, so I used half & half and extra cinnamon. I read Peggy Faulk Ellender's tips on how she bakes cheesecakes from this site and she is right. Not one single crack and my cheesecake was a good 3" thick! Unbelieveable. I also used an extra pie plate with water in it on a lower rack for my 'water bath'. As for taste this cheesecake is not overly rich, it's easy to eat a full piece and enjoy it without it being too much. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
The only changes I made to this recipe was use pecans in place of hazelnuts and added some pumpkin pie spice. I did not use a waterbath and had a few cracks, which didn't bother me. The result was a fairly light, not overly "cheesy" flavorful dessert. It was exactly what I was hoping for and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is the best cheesecake I have ever had. The only changes I made was to replace the maple syrup with 1/3 cup caramel ice cream topping and I omitted the hazelnuts from the crust (ginger snaps, brown sugar and butter only). My husband HATES cheesecakes and even cream cheese but LOVES this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States