Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Made this for Christmas dinner at my son's home. It was delicious and it all went. I received rave reviews. It was easy to make and I baked it in a water bath. The only problem was the Ginger Snaps. They were so fresh that they were hard. I tried the food processor for crushing, this did not work. I had to resort to placing them in a kitchen towel and using a hammer to crush them. Otherwise, the recipe was great! Thanks Shelley for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yacqueli
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This recipe was honestly amazing. It turned out great and I didn't want to share it with anyone. I don't think I changed anything except for the heavy cream, I didn't have any so I think I used condensed milk. Can't really remember but it was SO GOOD, and I got many compliments on it as well. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yacqueli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Wow, this was a huge hit at the dinner party I took it to. I felt bad for the other person who also brought desert because this cake got all the raves. Very moist and flavorful. Not one piece left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
this recipe was very simple & easy to make. i served it for dessert after xmas dinner, and the family loved it! i used the full amount of butter, and like others said, quite a bit baked out (place your cheesecake on a pizza or cookie sheet in the oven, and the pan will catch the melted butter). the dry ingredients in the crust do need the full amount of butter to mold properly to the bottom & sides of the pan. i used 2 packages of full-fat cream cheese & 1 package of fat-free, and it was delicious & creamy. make sure to let the cheesecake cool at room temp for the full 30 minutes (longer if you can) before putting it in the fridge. it will allow the cheesecake to settle slowly & prevent cracking. i will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Wonderful cheese cake, but gingersnaps are rock hard. I really thought it might break my food processor. Also, I wasn't able to find hazelnuts. I used pecans instead. Result was A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Yummy! I substituted pecans for the hazelnuts. The- gingersnaps are a bear to crush but inspired idea and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindyBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Onawa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I have made this 3 years in a row for my BF's bday - he asks for it all the time! The only change I've made is adding a sour cream topping and the only reason I added that is because I tend to get cracks in my cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Everyone at the Thanksgiving reunion said this was the best cheesecake they had ever eaten! It is a new tradition! I only modified the recipe by adding pecans to the crust and a little extra cinnamon to the cake. I also made my own cinnamon whipped cream to top off this yummy cake. This cake does leak. I wrapped my pan in aluminum foil before baking, and I'm sure glad I did! Also, the cake cracks even when heated with water in the oven. Make sure you have some whipped cream on hand to cover the crack! Otherwise, this is a smooth, delicious, light cheesecake. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The best cheesecake ever! I did 50/50 ginger snap cookies and honey grahams, and added pecan crumbs to crust. And used sour cream instead of heavy cream. Saved 1/4 of the pumpkin and added 1 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup brown sugar, and 1/2 cube cream cheese for topping. Bake again for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I actually only used the crust portion of this recipe for another pumpkin cheesecake.the crust was delicious, even without the nuts. One change I would make is to halve the butter,there was way too much and it oozed out of the bottom of the pan while cooking. If I hadn't had my pan wrapped in foil in a water bath, the butter would have been all over my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States