Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This cheesecake is delicious! I'm not a big pumpkin fan, but this is so good! I made it for a work party and EVERYONE asked for the recipe. I used both the pumpkin pie mix and the spices. I substituted pecans for the hazlenuts. Also, for the topping, I piped French Vanilla Cool-Whip over the whole thing, crumbled up gingersnaps, and drizzled with caramel. It was beautiful! No one could believe I made it! Definitely give this one a try - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe... It can be turned into a "diabetic friendly" recipe also! Replace the ginger snaps with low-cal cookies and add a tsp. of ground ginger. Replace the sugar with fructose or sweetener (remember to reduce the amount, as fructose and sweeteners have a higher sweetening effect)Instead of maple syrup, add a tsp. of maple flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abuela Nany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldorado, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mijas, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is the first cheesecake I have ever made, and I learned a lot from the process. These are the changes I would make: 1. Use less butter, pecans, brown sugar, more gingersnap cookies in crust (crust was greasy). 2. Cook for one hour, then turn oven off for final 30 min (my cheesecake seemed overcooked and cracked). 3. Cool at room temperature for 1 hr, then move to refrig. 4. Add about 1 teaspoon nutmeg to batter. I am anxious to try this one again! Great taste, even though it didn't look so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
We thought this was good, but I must have done the wrong thing putting the gingersnaps in the food processor. They ended up too finely ground, I think. Because, when I baked the cheesecake, the sugar in the crust seemed to have carmelized and made a harder crust. So, I think that was my fault, but I didn't like the ginger taste with the pumpkin cheesecake either. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Cooking at high elevations can be a challenge. I followed this recipe with the recommended changes of substituting pecans for the hazelnuts, and I put a pan of water in the oven. Except for those modifications, I followed the ingredients, temperature & times exactly. Cooking at 7000 feet can be a challenge, and this came out perfect--no cracks, subtle & wonderful flavors, great texture. Thanks for this recipe and the reviewer tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Everyone loved it, "Bakery quality"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Can't improve on this recipe and it is perfect and great for holidays and celebrations. I have found that if I take the cheesecake out of the oven five minutes sooner than the recipe calls for, the cracks can be avoided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
crust was very greasy because of the nuts, next time I will not add very much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This cheesecake gets made every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. The gingersnap crust truely makes the cheesecake, and is an excellent alternative to graham crackers (which I have used in a pinch). A word of caution though - if you bring this to a family gathering, the cheesecake will get scarfed down and your guests won't even TOUCH the other desserts! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
It was to DIE FOR!! I can't believe how good this was. && so easy! I did decrease the butter in the crust to 3 tablespoons and it still worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States