Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Wonderful pumpkin cheesecake recipe. I made this last year for thanksgiving and everyone devoured it and rated it 2 thumbs up, plus. So this year, I will be making it again. I don't use the hazelnuts but just add more gingersnaps and a bit of graham crackers. Everything else I follow to a T. Also, the key to a crack free top is to avoid overbeating the mix. Watch your oven temp and bring the cheesecake out a bit earlier then listed in the recipe. Cheesecake will keep cooking after the oven is off and will firm up as it cools. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
INCREDIBLE! WOW did my church family ever love this cheesecake.It came out Beautiful. I did make some changes tho. I didn't have any heavy cream so I substituted sour cream. I added extra spices since I know my husband and I like alot of flavor. For the crust I used extra ginger snaps and not hazelnuts since I'm not convinced my son can eat them yet. Then to keep the crust from cracking I used some simple tricks. 1: have a seperate container with water in the oven. 2: gently mix eggs then stir them in at the very end of mixing everything else. 3: only bake for 75-80 minutes then turn off oven and leave cake in for another half hour. hope your cake turns out as incredible as ours did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Okoboji, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was my first attempt at cheesecake and it was wonderful. I will make it for any occasion I can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
YUMMY! What a wonderful combination to add the gingersnaps for the crust! I've never liked graham cracker crust so it was a great fix for that! First time I've ever made a cheesecake and it turned out fabulous! Cheesecake baking tips from website were a huge help! I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I just made this cheesecake today and I must say that everyone loved it. The taste of the pumpkin cheesecake was excellent. I thought it was a perfect blend of spices for my taste. These are the only things I changed. I only had 2/5 cup pure maple syrup and didn't have any heavy cream on hand so I just used half and half. It definitely took 90 minutes even though it was cracked but when it sat for the 1/2 hour, everything settled nicely. Definitely very good especially with a dollop of cool whip. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYEE
Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
VERY GOOD. '08 TRIED USING THE WATER BATH METHOD, SEEMED TO WORK, BUT TOOK MUCH LONGER TO BAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving last weekend and it was a hit. It was definitely not like traditional cheesecake texture and when I first cut into it, I was a bit nervous. It almost didn't seem cooked. The taste was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
AMAZING. This is the BEST cheesecake I have ever made, and I have made many. I did increase the spices (mostly cinnamon and a little ginger) and added some pumpkin spice mix as well. I used a water bath, which resulted in a perfect, crack-free surface. For the topping I whipped cream with a tsp vanilla, a tsp sugar, a tbsp vanilla pudding powder (to help it set better) and a squirt of maple syrup. I put this all over the cake like a frosting and then sifted cinnamon/sugar through a heart cut-out to make a heart pattern on top. It turned out better than I expected! Also served on top a drizzle of a maple bourbon caramel sauce: 1/2 c butter, 2 tbsp maple syrup, 1 c brown sugar, splash bourbon and 1/2 c cream, all brought to a boil and then allowed to sit until room temp. Fabulous. Wish I'd taken a picture. Usually my desserts are not very photogenic, but this one turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I made it for a departmental party and it was the most popular dish that night. I modified the recipe slightly, eliminating the hazelnuts from the crust and substituting the heavy cream with sour cream. The cake turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States