Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by kelly
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. Followed directions as is, no changes. The butter did drip out of the pan, so I would reduce the amount of butter in the crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie m

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This came out great! I forgot to pick up the gingersnap cookies, so I used graham crackers and seasoned them with 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp cloves and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I used what I had on hand: pecans for the hazelnuts, two packages of regular cream cheese, one reduced fat and half & half for the cream. I also used half vanilla and half maple flavoring, and a good Grade B maple syrup. I rushed things cooling it so I ended up with a big crack - I made Maple Pecan Glaze (since I subbed pecans in the crust)from one of the other recipes here and served that on top. All in all, FABULOUS! Great flavor and texture, raves reviews. I have used gingersnap crusts in the past and like them, however the seasoned graham cracker was even better, I think. A bit more subtle flavor, but still recognizable as "gingersnap" - I think I'll do that again next time I do a pumpkin cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very good recipe! I decided to do this instead of pumpkin pie and my regular plain cheesecake. I've tried and failed with pumpkin cheesecake in the past but this one came out great! The only change I will make the next time is to mix some graham cracker crumbs into the gingersnap crumbs. The gingersnaps seem to carmelize a bit in the baking process. This may, of course, have been caused by too much butter. In any event, I topped it with fresh whipped cream sprinkled with pumpkin pie spice. Very pretty and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was my first cheesecake that I have ever made. It was so simple and YUMMY! I shared it with my co-workers and everyone raved and requested their own copy to make for the holidays! Thanks also to the tips on this site on making cheesecakes! Those tips helped to ensure it came out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This will definitely be a must have for holidays now. No luck finding gingersnap cookies so I made my own cookie dough & baked for 5 min. in pan before pouring in mix, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin in D-town
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipe. I modified the amounts to make mini cheesecakes and it turned out great. I also left out the hazelnuts since I do not really like the flavor. I topped the mini cheesecakes with Bourbon Whipped Cream recipe I found on this site, and a store bought caramel sauce. The flavors of the gingersnap crust, the pumpkin and the whipped cream complemented each other very nicely. All my guests loved the cheesecake! I already have requests to make this for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin in D-town

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used the recipe to make mini cheesecakes, as another reviewer suggested. I used ginger snaps in the bottom of lined muffin cups and filled with batter. Baked at 325 for about 20 minutes. Made 28 cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
very good cheesecake.... but definetly don't use 6 Tbs of butter in the crust. Way too much, and all it does is spill out the sides and into your oven, or pan below (if you thought to put one there) I would just use 2 or 3 Tbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnmspencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robert Saunders
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I omitted all nuts from the crust and it still turned out great! The pumpkin filling was nice, but next time I want to use pumpkin pie filling instead of pure pumpkin for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Saunders

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fenelon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States