Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made this cheesecake yesterday and it turned out wonderfully. As a matter of fact, my daughter didn't want to go to school today because she didn't think there would be any left for her when she got home. I made a few changes, though. I used 4 packages of cream cheese instead of just 3. I also threw in about 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice with the other spices as well. I used a trimmed down turkey cooking bag instead of wrapping the pan in foil, and it worked much better in the water bath. The consistency of this cheesecake is much creamier than the typical cheesecake because of the pumpkin, although I did pat the pumpkin down with paper towel. It was wonderful. My best so far. Can't wait to make it for Thanksgiving. I think I'll do one with the syrup and one without, just to see if there is a difference. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Corunna, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moose
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I've made this recipe twice. Once as written, and the second time modified into individual cheesecakes. First time it was wonderful--and the individual cheesecakes went over great as well. For individual-sized cheesecakes, just spray muffin/cupcake liners with baker's joy spray (or equivalent), and axed the maple syrup and hazelnuts from the recipe. Halved it... and ended up with 12 perfect mini cheesecakes. (A trip into the freezer is a must before removing the cheesecakes from the liners). Posted a picture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I've never had a lot of luck with baked cheesecakes, but this one is perfect! I didn't use maple syrup the second time I made it, and it was fine. I set it in a water bath, and baked it for 60-70 minutes, and left it in the oven after turning it off, for half an hour. Not only did it look perfect, but it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I love this recipe! I love the subtle pumpkin taste, but decided to go with graham cracker crust instead of gingersnap. I made this recipe last Thanksgiving and used honey instead of maple syrup as I didn't have any. It was great! So this year, I'm trying to cut some calories out and am experimenting with the recipe. I made the following changes: 2 pkgs of 1/3 less fat cream cheese and 1 pkg non fat, 3 eggs instead of 4 and 1 tsp. cinnamon instead of 3/4 tsp. as I was out of allspice. Also threw in 1 tsp. cinnamon to the graham cracker crust, as I was mixing it up. The result was a light creamy pumpkin cheesecake. It firmed up nicely overnight, and now have less than half sitting in the fridge only 12 hours after it was originally made. Three people did that damage, FYI. It has been requested at this year's Thanksgiving dinner as a prerequisite for attendence. Please note that the addition of pumpkin and cream allow for this cheesecake to be lighter, and even when one is using regular cream cheese it will not be as densed as regular New York Cheesecake, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrownSugar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Calistoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I made this during the holidays for the first time. It was so good people came to me to make special orders. I was so amazied how they enjoyed it. I am going to make it now for a family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used this crust with regular cheesecake on top and my husband would not stop raving about the crust. I also substituted pecans for the hazelnuts, since I'm not a big fan of hazel nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Excellent alternative to pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Awesome! I made this for my family and for my husband's family and they all loved it! Very easy recipe and tasted great. I substituted the hazelnuts for pecans and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I loved this recipe. It was very easy to do and tasted great. This was my first time trying to make a cheese cake and it turned out awesome. Everyone loved it. Next time I will follow the advise of another and put it in a water bath because mine did crack pretty bad. But I think it was great for a first timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
First let me just say I'm rating the recipe on the flavor combination. I flaked out and forgot to make it the night before so I had to improvise and make a no bake cheesecake. I mixed the softened cream cheese, maple syrup, vanilla, brown sugar and pumpkin for the filling. The crust I made out of the crushed gingersnaps and crused almonds. My variation came out wonderfully and everyone loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States