Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this for thanksgiving dessert, it was fabulous. When I checked after the 90 min it was still soft in the center, so I baked it out of the water bath an additional 20 min. Will make for any special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this for a luncheon at work. Instead of one cheesecake; I used gingersnaps placed in cupcake liners as the crust and made individual cakes. I baked them about 20-25 minutes. Once cooled I drizzled salted caramel topping on them and placed a piece of pecan on each one. These were a hit - everyone loved them! I also loved them; however I didn't really think the texture was a cheesecake texture - more like a pumpkin pie; that's why it's getting 4 stars not 5. However, I will make this again and I'll also try it in a springform pan. Maybe the texture changed because I made it in smaller size in the cupcake liners??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge success. Thank you for this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Absolutely loved the crust! I am using that same crust with other cheesecake recipes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Very good! I did subsitute pecans for hazelnuts, which completely hid that gingersnap taste rather than compliment. I will stick to the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I received several requests for making this a part of our family Thanksgiving every year! All spices & vanilla were doubled plus an addition of 1/8 tsp ground cloves and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. With these modifications the recipe is perfectly flavored and deserves a 5 star rating. As written, it is a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Absolutely perfect! The only struggle I had was with the crust, but that was my issue. I used ginger snaps and the brown sugar/butter mix, no nuts. Maybe the nuts would have helped alleviate the toffee-like crust that was nearly impossible to cut through. :( But no cracks!! (used a small water bath below) BIG TIP: be sure to place the spring form pan on a cookie sheet...it leaks for sure. But the flavor and consistency was perfect....not too sweet, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allrecipefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My family is really not into pumpkin, but my mother LOVES pumpkin cheesecake. We made this with half ginger snaps and half graham crackers for the crust and used pecans instead of hazelnuts, and it was STELLAR! I think she'll be requesting this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this yesterday and served it today for dessert after our Thanksgiving dinner - it was a hit! This is a well-written recipe. It actually came out right on the first try without me having to make any major changes. I omitted the nuts because not everyone in my family likes them - this had no ill effects on the outcome. I also used sour cream instead of heavy cream for a little extra flavor. I baked it in a water bath to prevent cracking and it came out beautifully. No, the texture is not as firm as a NY cheesecake, but I think it's appropriate for a pumpkin cheesecake - it's not as if it has a pudding-like texture like those awful no-bake "cheesecakes" - the texture IS lighter, but holds its shape like a proper cheesecake should. In the future, I may try the recommendations of substituting canned pumpkin pie filling and slightly tweaking the spice profile; however, this recipe is still great as is. I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Very Good, I used a Water Bath. The trick to that is I put the spring form pan in a oven bag and trim it down, set that on a jelly roll pan, then pour the cheesecake filing into the spring form pan, Put it into the oven and fill the jelly pan with water. Cheesecake did not crack. I was also careful to not over beat. I put my ginger snap cookies in the food processor, left out the nuts due to preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States