Pumpkin Cheesecake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Wow, I love these bars! The cookie crust, the cinnamon chips and the creamy cheesecake all make this an awesome recipe. My hubby took them into work and his co-workers all raved! I've never used cinnamon chips before, and I'm glad I did because they are wonderful in this recipe - definitely use them if you can find them! I had a 16.5 oz. package of sugar cookie dough and just used the whole thing. Be sure to grease the pan!! The only other change I made was to double the pumpkin pie spice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I was really nervous to make these after reading the last few reviews, but I am happy to report that it was a huge hit! So, I only baked the crust for 10 minutes, I doubled the pumpkin pie spice and I cut them into squares before totally cooling. Also, I cooked for 30 minutes, then turned off the oven and left them in for another 20 or so minutes. It is always so hard for me to tell when cheesecake is done! I WILL makes these again and will probably add more spice (maybe a little nutmeg and cinnamon). My SIL who doesn't eat dessert ate one and took one for the road, and my MIL raved about the crust. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These were excellent! I made just as the recipe stated, but substituted a little over 8oz of fresh pumpkin puree for the canned pumpkin. Cheesecake can be a little difficult in terms of knowing when it has been baked long enough, but this recipe turned out perfect after baking the filling for just 30 minutes. I did use a 9.5" X 13.5" pan as opposed to 9 X 13, and used the entire container of sugar cookie dough (which turned out to be a hair less than the 16oz stated in this recipe). As the previous review stated, make sure to spray the pan before you press in the cookie dough, or you will have a difficult time getting them out. These were definitely a hit with everyone I work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I needed something different to make for a Christmas luncheon at work. I am so glad I made these squares. I was not able to find cinnamon chips so substituted ground cinnamon. I also was unable to find sugar cookie dough do to all the "santa" cookies being made, so I substituted chocolate chip cookie dough! What a hit at the luncheon! Several co-workers have asked for the recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
These were a HUGE hit with the people at church a week ago. I couldn't find the cinnamon chips, so I used peanut butter chips. I also used a little more of the cookie dough, so the crust was a tad thicker. And I had fresh pumpkin, so that's what I used. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Made these for a football party we were having this weekend and everyone LOVED them and everyone went home with the recipe! I used 1.5 pkgs of Pillsbury Sugar Cookie Squares and they were great, but next time I am going to add a little more cream cheese than called for. The pumpkin kind of overwhelmes the cheesecake taste, but they are still one of the best desserts I've made in a while! Not too heavy either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniPip

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I was a little scared to make this because it was for my family, but I'm glad I did. My Aunt Martha (who is the goddess of baking) even said it was absolutely delicious! Here's some tips though: Add a little more pumpkin spice. Not too much to overcome the cheesecake flavor, but to make it really burst in your mouth. Grease the pan (obviously). And cut it TWICE: once about twenty minutes after its baked and setting, and the other time about four hours after you put it in the fridge. It'll help getting it out. The cookie wont stick to the bottom if you let it cool before you pour the pumpkin in. And this tastes wonderful with whipped cream. :] I was going to put a picture up, but everyone snatched it before I could get a piece to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YesterdaysDessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I thought that this recipe was fantastic! Everyone at my Thanksgiving table loved it, even my sister, whos never liked cheesecake, loved it better than the classic pumpkin pie. The only thing i changed was instead of putting a sugar cookie dough crust, i made a simple graham cracker crust (wonderful flavor combination with the cheesecake) I thought that this recipe was a great addition to our table. I will definitley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this exactly as stated, except i sprayed the pan. It was still pretty difficult to get out but I tell you, no one cared. No one cared that it wasn't a perfect square that came out (and most had whip cream on it anyway) but just raved about it the whole time. My cousin came up to me and said "I'm known as the Picky Eater. And believe me, I'm picky. This - 2 thumbs up." I knew it was a winner then and when everyone went back for seconds. As for me, I loved it, everyone was delighted by the crust. :) And it is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savvyone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These were a big hit with my family! Being cut up ahead of time and served individually with whipped cream helped on the "eye appeal", and the flavor was light and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldpolly
Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States