Pumpkin Cheesecake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
A friend made this and it was very good...the instructions did not say to spray the pan (definitely do this)...otherwise, great recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These were excellent! I made just as the recipe stated, but substituted a little over 8oz of fresh pumpkin puree for the canned pumpkin. Cheesecake can be a little difficult in terms of knowing when it has been baked long enough, but this recipe turned out perfect after baking the filling for just 30 minutes. I did use a 9.5" X 13.5" pan as opposed to 9 X 13, and used the entire container of sugar cookie dough (which turned out to be a hair less than the 16oz stated in this recipe). As the previous review stated, make sure to spray the pan before you press in the cookie dough, or you will have a difficult time getting them out. These were definitely a hit with everyone I work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I was a little scared to make this because it was for my family, but I'm glad I did. My Aunt Martha (who is the goddess of baking) even said it was absolutely delicious! Here's some tips though: Add a little more pumpkin spice. Not too much to overcome the cheesecake flavor, but to make it really burst in your mouth. Grease the pan (obviously). And cut it TWICE: once about twenty minutes after its baked and setting, and the other time about four hours after you put it in the fridge. It'll help getting it out. The cookie wont stick to the bottom if you let it cool before you pour the pumpkin in. And this tastes wonderful with whipped cream. :] I was going to put a picture up, but everyone snatched it before I could get a piece to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YesterdaysDessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Oh my goodness gracious. This dessert is freaking LETHAL. I did spritz my pan with cooking spray before pressing the cookie dough batter into the pan. I used one of those mixes of cookie dough that you just throw in the extra ingredients and wa-la, you have cookie dough. I did use reduced fat cream cheese (for all the good that did, really) and I used homemade pumpkin pie spice, which I increased to two teaspoons, and organic pumpkin mash I made myself. This is pretty darn good, though I think I might use a different sugar cookie base next time. I don't know if I'll make it and keep it at home next time. It's really freaking good and really not diet friendly. The only reason I didn't five star it is because I think it needs the extra spice. I wish there was an option for four and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was a great recipe!! I was a little worried about halfway thru though. I used a glass dish to bake in and the sugar cookie dough bubbled up a lot, I thought I had done something wrong. It turned out SO GOOD!!!!!!!!! I am definitely making this again without a doubt!! Only thing I changed was I substitued reg. cinnamon for the cinnamon chips!! It turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlethings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Wow, I love these bars! The cookie crust, the cinnamon chips and the creamy cheesecake all make this an awesome recipe. My hubby took them into work and his co-workers all raved! I've never used cinnamon chips before, and I'm glad I did because they are wonderful in this recipe - definitely use them if you can find them! I had a 16.5 oz. package of sugar cookie dough and just used the whole thing. Be sure to grease the pan!! The only other change I made was to double the pumpkin pie spice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Took much longer than 35 minutes to bake, and if you are using a glass pan, turn the heat down. Also, I couldn't find cinnamon chips, so I used white chocolate chips and sprinkled cinnamon on them. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelReed

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe sounded great but the execution just did not measure up! Like other reviewers, I could not find cinnamon chips, so I used approximately 8 oz. of butterscotch chips for a touch of flavor then sprinkled cinnamon on top of the pumpkin mixture. The chips melted through the cookie dough and stuck to the bottom of the pan (which I did spray before spreading in the cookie dough). I lost most of the cookie layer due to the melted chips and had more of a cream cheese bar instead. What a mess in the pan though! Next time, I would either use more cookie dough, or less chips. A graham cracker crust underneath may also be a good alternative to the cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was really good. The whole family liked it. I could only find a 16.5 oz cookie dough so I used the whole thing. I was kinda worried about using the whole bag of cinnamon chips but did it anyway with no regrets. I used a heaping teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and I think it could have used a little more. HINT - I can only find cinnamon chips around the holidays with the baking goods/chips so be sure to stock up when you see them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I needed something different to make for a Christmas luncheon at work. I am so glad I made these squares. I was not able to find cinnamon chips so substituted ground cinnamon. I also was unable to find sugar cookie dough do to all the "santa" cookies being made, so I substituted chocolate chip cookie dough! What a hit at the luncheon! Several co-workers have asked for the recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States