Pumpkin Cheesecake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
A friend made this and it was very good...the instructions did not say to spray the pan (definitely do this)...otherwise, great recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These were excellent! I made just as the recipe stated, but substituted a little over 8oz of fresh pumpkin puree for the canned pumpkin. Cheesecake can be a little difficult in terms of knowing when it has been baked long enough, but this recipe turned out perfect after baking the filling for just 30 minutes. I did use a 9.5" X 13.5" pan as opposed to 9 X 13, and used the entire container of sugar cookie dough (which turned out to be a hair less than the 16oz stated in this recipe). As the previous review stated, make sure to spray the pan before you press in the cookie dough, or you will have a difficult time getting them out. These were definitely a hit with everyone I work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was a great recipe!! I was a little worried about halfway thru though. I used a glass dish to bake in and the sugar cookie dough bubbled up a lot, I thought I had done something wrong. It turned out SO GOOD!!!!!!!!! I am definitely making this again without a doubt!! Only thing I changed was I substitued reg. cinnamon for the cinnamon chips!! It turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlethings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I needed something different to make for a Christmas luncheon at work. I am so glad I made these squares. I was not able to find cinnamon chips so substituted ground cinnamon. I also was unable to find sugar cookie dough do to all the "santa" cookies being made, so I substituted chocolate chip cookie dough! What a hit at the luncheon! Several co-workers have asked for the recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
These were a HUGE hit with the people at church a week ago. I couldn't find the cinnamon chips, so I used peanut butter chips. I also used a little more of the cookie dough, so the crust was a tad thicker. And I had fresh pumpkin, so that's what I used. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Made these for a football party we were having this weekend and everyone LOVED them and everyone went home with the recipe! I used 1.5 pkgs of Pillsbury Sugar Cookie Squares and they were great, but next time I am going to add a little more cream cheese than called for. The pumpkin kind of overwhelmes the cheesecake taste, but they are still one of the best desserts I've made in a while! Not too heavy either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniPip

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Wow, I love these bars! The cookie crust, the cinnamon chips and the creamy cheesecake all make this an awesome recipe. My hubby took them into work and his co-workers all raved! I've never used cinnamon chips before, and I'm glad I did because they are wonderful in this recipe - definitely use them if you can find them! I had a 16.5 oz. package of sugar cookie dough and just used the whole thing. Be sure to grease the pan!! The only other change I made was to double the pumpkin pie spice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was really good. The whole family liked it. I could only find a 16.5 oz cookie dough so I used the whole thing. I was kinda worried about using the whole bag of cinnamon chips but did it anyway with no regrets. I used a heaping teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and I think it could have used a little more. HINT - I can only find cinnamon chips around the holidays with the baking goods/chips so be sure to stock up when you see them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Sorry I can't rate this recipe very high. No one at the Thanksgiving potluck thought they were very good at all. I guess maybe I messed something up but not sure what. The bottom crust was rock hard and the filling was pasty. I have a pretty good reputation for bringing good desserts and this one was definitely a flop - sorry. Will not be making again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRAWBERRY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Cut the squares BEFORE cooling!!! I made this for a work luncheon and it was a disaster, but only because the crust/cookie was like (attempting) to cut through a layer of bricks. I cut one batch before it chilled completely and it cut perfectly but once I chilled it to set the cheesecake, it was impossible to slice. What I was able to rip from the whole cake still tasted great but was just too difficult to slice to make it a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States