Pumpkin Cheesecake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Very simple and very yummy! Made a test batch and decided I'll definitely be bringing these for Thanksgiving dessert! I would definitely recommend spraying the pan. I couldn't find any cinnamon chips so I just sprinkled ground cinnamon over the sugar cookie dough prior to cooking. I also opted for Stevia instead of sugar. The pumpkin taste is very mild. Next time I'll try adding more pumpkin pie spice or another half can of puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Definitely grease the pan before putting the cookie dough on the bottom. I think it would have helped to let the cookie dough cool a few minutes before adding the pumpkin topping as it was hard to spread because my crust was bubbly and poofy. I should have listened to my gut instinct on that one. It came out fine, just hard to spread the pumpkin around the puffy crust to make it more even. The taste was amazing! I used the whole cookie package (mine wasn't 18 oz) and just used my pampered chef roller to help spread it out evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I made this cheesecake and it came out awesome. I did make a few minor changes from the recipe. I added a cup of sugar and 1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice. I didn't add the cinnamon chips because the store didn't have them. I just sprinkled some cinnamon on the cookie dough instead. The only glitch was that the crust burned on the underside. But that could be my error as I baked it for 40 minutes. I had the pan lined with parchment paper, too. When I make this again, I will only leave it in the oven for 30 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fezziwig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
These came out great. Couldn't find the cinnamon chips so used white chocolate, but not a whole bag... the cookie crust is sweet enough. Everyone wanted a few to take home! Easy to dish out and serve if pre-cut while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Came out delicious and definitely plenty to go around. I did add more spice as others suggested and substituted white chocolate chips w cinnamon sprinkled on top in place of cinnamon chips. It was the hit of Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe sounded great but the execution just did not measure up! Like other reviewers, I could not find cinnamon chips, so I used approximately 8 oz. of butterscotch chips for a touch of flavor then sprinkled cinnamon on top of the pumpkin mixture. The chips melted through the cookie dough and stuck to the bottom of the pan (which I did spray before spreading in the cookie dough). I lost most of the cookie layer due to the melted chips and had more of a cream cheese bar instead. What a mess in the pan though! Next time, I would either use more cookie dough, or less chips. A graham cracker crust underneath may also be a good alternative to the cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Oh my goodness gracious. This dessert is freaking LETHAL. I did spritz my pan with cooking spray before pressing the cookie dough batter into the pan. I used one of those mixes of cookie dough that you just throw in the extra ingredients and wa-la, you have cookie dough. I did use reduced fat cream cheese (for all the good that did, really) and I used homemade pumpkin pie spice, which I increased to two teaspoons, and organic pumpkin mash I made myself. This is pretty darn good, though I think I might use a different sugar cookie base next time. I don't know if I'll make it and keep it at home next time. It's really freaking good and really not diet friendly. The only reason I didn't five star it is because I think it needs the extra spice. I wish there was an option for four and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Took much longer than 35 minutes to bake, and if you are using a glass pan, turn the heat down. Also, I couldn't find cinnamon chips, so I used white chocolate chips and sprinkled cinnamon on them. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelReed

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I took this to work yesterday, everyone loved it. Am taking the recipe today to run copies off for them. I used a yellow cake mix and instead of pumpkin pie spice I used cinnamon,ginger and ground cloves in the amount that is on the can of pumpkin. I feel that this gives it a more spicy flavor. Will definitely make this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These were a big hit with my family! Being cut up ahead of time and served individually with whipped cream helped on the "eye appeal", and the flavor was light and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldpolly
Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States