Pumpkin Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
The best cheesecake I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I followed this recipe pretty exact. Except used nutmeg instead of mace and I also cooked with 2 pans of water on the rack below the cheesecake and it didn't crack and tasted great! Liked the pecans in graham cracker crust, nice touch. Also I did put the maple glaze on half the cheesecake and I thought it was great that way. My husband preferred it w/out the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Excellent! Family loved it. I have to make another one tomorrow for another family member. For the pumpkin mixture I used a little more than 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin spice, 1/2 of cinnamon and a just a little nutmeg for added taste. In the cream cheese mixture I used real lemon juice and little more than 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. For the crust I used 1/2 ginger snap and graham cracker. The next time I will take the advice of another member and set the crust for 10 minutes, because I thought it was a little wet or soft. That could be from the water bath. I'm not sure. Finally,after pouring the batter in the pan I dropped the pan several times onto the counter. After placing the batter in the pan and before placing it into the water bath, I heavily wrapped the springform pan in foil. However, next time, I will try the longer foil paper because a small amount of water leaked through. The pie came out smooth as a baby's bottom not a crack in site. Love it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Holy cow - I mis-read the recipe and almost added too much pumpkin... but it still turned out spectacular. I made the crust out of ginger snaps and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a delicious pumpkin cheesecake recipe and has moved to the top of my favorites. I made it for Thanksgiving and my family loved it! The only thing I changed was using allspice instead of mace, and placing the graham cracker/pecan crust into the oven for about 10 minutes to set. Also, when baking the final product it helps to set the spring form pan in the center of a shallow roasting pan filled with 1-2 inches of water. This will prevent cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used Nila wafers to make the crust instead of graham crackers and I also skipped the nuts. My boyfriend and I loved it. The only thing I would do differently is to let the cheesecake cool in the oven to prevent from sinking in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This cheesecake is wonderful! I used a ginger snap crust with the pecans and everyone raved about this cheesecake! I will be making this again REAL soon. I used the maple glaze and was glad I did, but you don't have to because this cheesecake is good either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim1430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My daughter made this for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful! I've never been a huge cheesecake fan but this one I really love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
THE BEST RECIPE I HAVE EVER GOTTEN FROM THIS SITE. The directions were helpful in that they made you put the eggs in last (which helps because it prevents cheesecake cracking), and the extra spices were absolutely perfect!! They complimented each other so well! However, I did not put in any lemon flavoring. I also upped the 3/4 cup of pumpkin to 1 cup, and it was perfect. To prevent cracking and air bubbles, I followed past reviews by dropping the springform pan on the counter (after I filled it with the batter) to get out the air bubbles, and I not only used a waterbath, but I also greased the sides of the springform pan to allow the cheesecake to shrink towards the middle more easily instead of pulling to the sides and cracking. What came out was a cheesecake with a marble smooth top like in the restaurants!! To smoothen the sides, I just took allrecipes' advice and wiped the sides with a hot wet knife. Nothing else was altered. This recipe speaks for itself! **EDIT** The mace is a must!! If you want to get the full seasonal taste, then you cannot settle for anything less than the mace. It helps bring out the other spices as well, but not too much so that it becomes an overload. This cheesecake gives a very subtle taste, and the mace makes you feel like you're taking a bite of pure Autumn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I made it and brought it to work and it was gone within and hour. I got all rave reviews of it. The only change I made was that I added cloves and nutmeg and eliminated the mace because I didn't have any in the house, it's not something I ever cook with. The flavors were great, and the cheesecake looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States