Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I was a little dissapointed by this recipe. After letting mine cool and then putting them in the fridge the crust was rock hard the next day and extremely difficult to cut. I would recommend letting them cool, cutting them, THEN put them in the fridge. I also found them too rich for my taste but should be expected though all the condensed milk and cream cheese. Will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
i think i like this better than pumpkin pie! i used yellow cake mix, left out the pecans, and added a pinch of clove to the pumpkin mix. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I also used a yellow cake mix and a 13 x 9 pan. It was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
A word to the wise: Do not try to economize this recipe; it just doesn't work. In a pumpkin pie, you can substitute the less expensive evaporated milk & sugar for sweetened condensed milk. DO NOT DO THIS. You cream cheese will end up nasty and gritty. I made this mistake the first time I made the recipe. Also, two bars of cream cheese works better than one. I omitted the nuts-- no need for them. I topped this cheesecake with a sour cream/brown sugar/vanilla mixture-- tastes great. I'm taking this one to church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rossford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is a fabulous recipe and it's even better using gingerbread cake mix instead of pound cake and then putting the pumpkin pie spice in the cheesecake filling. It really gives it a great flavor with the gingerbread crust! I didn't change the rest except to omit the nuts. My father in law hates cheesecake but thought these were great (since we told him they were "pumpkin bars")!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim A

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Everyone at my house really liked these. I think next time I will adjust the recipe to include the pumpkin pie spice in the pumpkin mixutre to break up the condensed milk flavour that runs through the pumpkin portion of this recipe. Very good taste overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
These are great! I love the flavor and creaminess. I used parchment paper instead of cooking spray and had no problems. I did have a hard time getting the crust to thin out evenly in the jelly roll pan. I think next time I will try the 9x13 method. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very Good! My family really enjoyed it. Once it chills in the refrigerator, it gets much thicker. It kind of reminds me of a cheesecake dessert, rather than cheesecake itself. I would think you could add more cream cheese and extra eggs if you wanted more of a cheesecake texture. On the other hand, I would think adding more pumpkin would give it more of a pie texture. This recipe could be changed to fit whatever taste you are looking for. *** I will make this recipe again and may try some modifications to change the texture in different ways. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This is definitely a delicious recipe. I read reviews before I baked it for the first time and decided that I needed to make it more "cheesecake-y" the first time around. I bought a box of No-Bake cheesecake mix and just mixed it in with the pumpkin. It still turned out delicious but was not as cheesecake-y as I had hoped. I felt it was missing something. Next time, I'm going to add a layer of cream cheese on top after it comes out of the oven and cools and sprinkle the pecans on that. This is a great recipe for the pumpkin lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving one year and my whole family has demanded them ever since! Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States