Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Really good, creamy texture, not as dense as cheesecake, more like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made this recently for my husband, who really loves pumpkin pie (I'm not personally a big pumpkin pie fan). He absolutely loved it, and said it's the best dessert he's ever eaten. The next day it was served with whipped cream at a family gathering, and everyone there loved it. I tried it and also thought it was great, even though I don't generally care for pumpkin pie. Before making it, I read some of the other comments that indicated the final product was not really very "cheesecake-like". I wanted to make something basically like a pumpkin-pie flavoured cheesecake, so I made a few changes to the recipe, and it turned out exactly like I wanted. I added an extra package of cream cheese (I used two 250g packages) and an extra egg (for a total of three eggs in the batter, plus the one in the crust). I also added about a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. For the crust I used a Duncan Hines French Vanilla cake mix, and I made it in a metal 9" X 13" pan (I sprayed the pan generously with cooking spray and had no trouble getting the cake out of the pan). I omitted the pecans as we don't like nuts. I baked it for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
These are so-so. Tastes more like pumpkin pie...couldn't detect anything resembling cheesecake. Also, really did not like the crust at all...in my opinion, the use of the pumplin pie is a bit heavy-handed. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manderz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I thought I would love these given the reviews, but I wasn't impressed. It tasted just like pumpkin pie (as the reviews said) and the crust didn't seem to go with the rest of the dessert--maybe because my taste buds were expecting pumpkin pie! I wish I had added the cheese cake layer one of the reviewers suggested. I doubt I would bother to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is the second time I have made this. The first time I had pound cake mix and the this time I didn't have any so I used a butter cake mix. I definitely liked the pound cake better. I also added a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter as another reviewer suggested. Also instead of chopped pecans I sprinkled ground pecans on top which I liked alot. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by citymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trish-a-Licious
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was soOOO delicious and I don't like Pumpkin pie at all! I used (French Vanilla Cake Mix) instead of pound cake, the flavors together mixed so well. Other than that, I didn't change a thing! Thanks for a wonderful yummy pumpkin recipe that I can enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish-a-Licious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Loved it! Brought to a get together and everyone loved it! Made with yellow cake mix and was perfect. Will make again! I accidentally used squash I had in the freezer instead of pumpkin, but you couldn't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianneher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Ditto to many reviews - I wouldn't call these cheesecake bars. But they're delicious. Because they taste like pumpkin pie, I couldn't help but top it with whipped cream and a dusting of pumpkin pie spice. I also did the 9x13 recipe but otherwise left everything the same. Delicious. I dare say I liked these even better than pumpkin pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I've made these twice in the past month. The first time, I crushed a box of gingersnaps and added some melted butter to make the crust. The second time, I followed the directions and used a pound cake mix. I much prefer it with the gingersnap crust. The pound cake became a rock in the pan; a tasty rock, yes, but still a rock. The gingersnap crust gave it that little something extra to make it extraordinary. Three stars with the pound cake, five stars with the cookies. Thanks for sharing, Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States