Pumpkin Cheese Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was really really good. I read all the reviews and saw that a lot of people used vanilla extract instead of the orange zest. I decided to follow the recipe exactly as written and used the orange zest. I am so glad I did! It added such a wonderful flavor. I think without the orange zest it would have been very bland. It came out of the oven about an hour ago and already half of it is gone and there are only 2 of us eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Thanks you all the nice reviews, but I have to tell you the orange zest is very important in this recipe. If your omitting it, your need to try it with it because it's what makes this bread so unique. Enjoy! Tina Fox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Andre' Fox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Delicious! I love the combination of tastes and textures. I didn't use the orange zest (subbed 1/4 t vanilla extract as another reviewer suggested), but I might have to try that next time. I sprinkled the top of the loaves with pecan chips, too. I do have to say that it was sort of a pain to make. It was hard to gauge how much batter to put in the bottom of each loaf pan.... I ended up putting way too much in the bottom of one pan and the cream cheese layer wound up closer to the top and didn't stay as moist as my other loaf, which had a much thinner bottom layer. As another reviewer stated, the pumpkin batter came out thick and it was tricky to spread the top layer on. And there was a LOT of clean up afterward. But overall, totally worth the frustration and the mess. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This bread was good but I thought it needed more spice. I didn't have any orange zest, so added 1/4tsp. vanilla as the other reviewer suggested and omit the cloves and up the cinnamon to 1tsp. I also didn't have 2 loaf pan, so I use 8x8 inch pan and worked out perfect. It took 70 mins. to cook. If I were to make these again, I'm gonna add a bit more spice and maybe throw in some walnuts or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zhou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was really good. Just the bread without the cheesecake is a great recipe. The change I made was I made the cream cheese filling "pumpkin cheesecake" I added some of the pumpkin "puree" to the cream cheese mixture plus a couple pinches of nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves. I also refrigerated the bread before we tore into it and I must say this is a nice COLD dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessielee1389

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I cut the recipe in half to make 1 loaf. I subbed Splenda for the sugar, egg whites for eggs, wheat flour for about half the flour and used additional pumpkin in place of the oil. It was a good recipe, but not outstanding. I liked how the spices stood out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe. Very moist, sweet and perfect for entertaining. Very good the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Delicious flavor, good choice for a loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I must have done something wrong. This was nearly tasteless. We salvaged it by topping it with spiced applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is my first time making ANY pumpkin bread, and I'm glad I chose this recipe. It's amazing!! I followed the recipe exactly, only, I only had two bread pans that happen to be different sizes so I had to compensate for that, but it still turned out great. I froze 1 loaf because we ate the first loaf within 2 days. It's that good! Thank you Tinafox!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States