Pumpkin Cheese Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
If you want to make a pumpkin cheesecake bread with creamy filling, a moist cakey interior, and harmonious spices; do not use this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, but had to bake the thing for almost 2 hours so the filling wasnt gooey. Even after salvaging the bake time, the loaf turned out floppy, the "cheesecake" filling was more of an egg custard, and the overall flavor profile was comparable to wonderbread. I guess it was worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I would post a picture but for some reason no matter how much I adjust it, it keeps telling me it's the wrong size. Don't get me wrong, the pumpkin bread itself turned out really good. Very moist and just the right spice. I had really high hopes for the cream cheese filling since the "batter" for it tasted so good before I actually put it in the bread to bake. However, I'm surprised no one mentioned in their reviews that the "cream cheese filling" in the middle is not a frosting like you would expect. It's more like a cream cheese and orange flavored batter that is baked into the bread. If you are expecting a cream cheese frosting in the middle then you will be disappointed like I was. I do agree that the orange zest in the filling really complimented the pumpkin flavor of the bread so I would highly recommend not omitting it like other reviewers have done. I think if it weren't for the orange zest this recipe wouldn't really stand out from other pumpkin bread recipes out there. Also a word to the wise: I did not find that it made enough batter to make two loafs like the recipe calls for. I went ahead and just put all of it in one 8x4 loaf pan. It filled it to the top. It didn't overflow and turned out fine. I wound up with a total baking time of an hour and 20 minutes because it was a larger loaf but of course bake times will vary depending on your oven. Next time I will follow the bread recipe but will use a different filling recipe and just add orange zest to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was really really good. I made two last night and one my husband and I shared and there was a little bit left for him for breakfast. The other I brought to work and it is was finished before I could finish my review. Please do put a small amount of batter in the bottom of the pan as others said. I thought I did, but there wasn't much batter left to cover it. Turned out pretty though! I forgot to get a picture and now there is none left! Thank you Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oscoda, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney R
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
this is amazing. i didnt use the orange zest, and added extra cinnamon than called for, also added some nutmeg and vanilla ext. it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Unbelievably delicious. It is our new holiday favorite. Not too sweet and has layers of interesting tastes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Fantastic,! Made as directed....do not skip orange zest as some stated. This is what sets this cake above the rest; it is that "wow" factor that makes the spices pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Baked this tonight. Did not have the citrus zest so used one teaspoon of vanilla in the pumpkin batter. I also substituted one teaspoon each of pumpkin pie spice and all spice. Oh my goodness, this turned out really good. Baked mine in a Bundt pan and it worked beautifully. It was good warm from oven and bet it will taste even better once cooled off and refrigerated. Husband wants me to bake this for a pot luck at his work ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Giving it a 4...it doesn't bake up very tall at all. I like my sweet breads to be tall and not a short loaf like this one. The flavor is good though...I wish I would have put in even more orange zest...the flavor is great. I'm not sure if I will make this one again, or not? Used fresh processed pumpkin, not canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. First time I have ever made pumpkin bread. My family loved it. Will be making for the holidays this year! So light not a heavy bread like some others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is very good. I didn't have an orange so used dried orange peel in place of the zest (not sure that could be anywhere near as good). The spice is perfectly offset by the cream cheese. I sent this to my freshman college student who couldn't come home for fall break. Just hoping it ships well (used a disposable ice pack, 2 day shipping). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States