Pumpkin Cheese Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was wonderful! Loved the hit of orange in the cream cheese layer. However, I wish I would have read the reviews first since there is too much batter for one loaf and not enough for two loaves. Next time, I will do as others suggested and bake it in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I made the changes that I always make to bread/cake recipes....subbed applesauce for the oil and whole wheat flour for the white flour. I also used low-fat cream cheese. For the pumpkin pie spice I mixed allspice, more cinammon, and nutmeg. I really liked this bread but the cream cheese didn`t have that little zing that I like about cream cheese. I will make this again but will just make the bread and then spread the cream cheese/orange peel mix on after it is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I just started getting into baking and decided to try this recipe out. It is fantastic!! It was very easy to make, and everyone just loved it. I left out the orange zest due to personal preference, and it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This recipe is awesome! It always turns out super moist and the cream cheese middle is a great surprise. Like everyone else, I have found out that this bread turns out a little flat. However, once people take a bite, nobody cares that its a little flat. I tried it in a bunt pan and that works great too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
UNBELIEVABLE! My guests loved this. I had planned to make the traditional Libby's Pumpking Roll, but have two babies and ran out of time the day of the party. I made this in a flash while they were napping and put it into a bundt pan instead of loaf pans. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar for presentation and it turned out fabulous. We will be making this again and again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DOJAGRAM
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
It is a great recipe. I made it in a bundt pan and wouldn't make it any other way. Fresh orange zest is definitely the way to go with this cream cheese filling. I used pumpkin pie canned filling (by mistake) and didn't realize that's what I was using until I had already spiced up the batter. I was afraid that would make the cake too spicy, but it was delicious. I also added about a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. Good recipe, though a little labor intensive. Update, Christmas 2006: I have made this recipe with a couple other variations, including using 12 oz of cream cheese for the filling; this is such a good recipe, just needs more "batter". I make it in the bundt pan each time I make it. The filling would probably be great (with or without the orange zest) in most any pound cake (umm, chocolate pound cake with the filling with the orange zest, bet that would be fabulous!). Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOJAGRAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Although it was a bit of a pain to spread the top layer of pumpkin batter over the cream cheese without making a mess, the end result was great. It was good with or without butter, and kept really well. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I made this in a bundt pan and topped with Orange Cream Cheese frosting. It was moist and yummy! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Very good, very easy. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States