Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Tastes like a dessert!!! I shall be making this for our family Thanksgiving every year. I followed the recipe except for using pumpkin pie filling instead of puree and using two teaspoons of cinnamon and an additional half teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countess Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is an amazing yummy dish! My husband would sit & eat an entire dish of it if I let him. So easy to whip together & a great alternative to holiday meals where something pumpkin is expected for those of us who don't like pumpkin pie. I always cut the sugar in half & it's still SO good! I also add in some fresh nutmeg but that's just a taste thing. Great Recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Easy,great tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
After reading reviews I made the following changes. Reduced sugar to about 2/3 cups, half white and half brown. I served it as a crustless pie and it was plenty sweet, could probably cut to 1/2 cup. Used butter and cut it a little but would only use about 2 TSPs next time. Added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Would add a little more spice next time b/c I like a little more flavor. This was a great option for pumpkin pie without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Easy and delicious! Here are the changes I made: -increased to 29 oz canned pumpkin. -fat free evaporated milk. -Splenda instead of sugar. -all purpose flour instead of self-rising. -1/2 cup of Egg Beaters instead of eggs. -fat free margarine instead of butter. -replaced the pinches of cinnamon with 1 tbsp of pumpkin pie filling. This is a make-again dish. Thanks, Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I am rating on behalf of my husband who asked me to make more of this right when the first pan got cleaned off. He loved it. I made it for a Thanksgiving meal and also got rave reviews. I actually like it even better cold, it's very much like a crustless pumpkin pie/custard. It's a dish that gets people's attention, plus it's easy--two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was really good- on par with sweet potato casserole. I cut back on the sugar per other reviewers' comments, and added only 1/2c brown sugar instead of 1 c white. I also didn't have self rising flour, so I just used regular flour plus baking soda and baking powder. I was happily impressed at how this turned out. Will make again at holiday time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made this 5 times since thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I usually cut the sugar and butter in half and still comes out delicious. Use all purpose flour + baking powder intead of self-rising and it works well. thanks Lori for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was SUPER EASY and really yummy!! Everybody loved it at Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing this really easy recipe, a tasty go to for the holidays especially if you're in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My husband used to hate pumpkin anything. We couldn't have taken him directly to this recipe, or he'd have turned his nose up at it. Instead, we did it the round about way: a) used a butternut squash recipe that had a gingersnap-crumbs and butter topping on it (which he agreed he could tolerate when his children loved it), b) had that same casserole a few times until he loved it, c) THEN we tried this one with the following substitutions: used whole wheat flour combined with the appropriate amount of soda, salt, and b.powder, used a combination of sucanat and stevia for the sugar, and used half skim milk (as that is what we had on hand). My biggest butternut squash fan still likes butternut squash better, but this squash can come from a can, which helps me on slower days, and what with pumpkin being soooo good for you.... mmmmm. // Oh, we used the large can, doubled the recipe, baked a small portion in the microwave for dinner, and the rest in a crockpot for dessert. The casserole in the microwave was not as fluffy, but was done in less than five minutes. The dessert in the crockpot was slower, so we were able to put the gingersnap-crumb topping on, and with its fluffy nature, was a real treat with herbal tea. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States