Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
After reading the other reviews I decided to cut the sugar in half. Most of the recipes on here that call for sugar are way too sweet for us, so I thought this would be true of this recipe as well. While I did like this, it could have used a little more sugar than I put in it, but definitely not the full amount the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I don't like the typical sweet potato or yam casserole (with the nasty marshmallows on top), so I tried this with the leftover canned pumpkin I had on hand. It was Delicious! Like someone else mentioned, not as sweet as I was expecting, which was great. It perfectly complemented the savory dishes we had on our Thanksgiving table, but this will definitely be made again throughout the year. Similar to a mild, not too sweet or overly spiced pumpkin pie. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good indeed. I wanted to use my gargantuan Halloween pumpkin- so I found a recipe for fresh pumpkin puree-then made this casserole. Because the evaporated milk comes in a 12 ounce can, I "one-and-a-halved" the recipe. I used 1/2 more of everything as written except the sugar. Based on other reviews- I left that at 1 cup. AND I added 3/4 of a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice (in lieu of the pinches of cinnamon.)I really like the consistency- it's smooth and creamy yet firm, sort of like a mousse. It's a little sweet- but not like a dessert. I made it today as a trial run for Thanksgiving- Going to put it in the line-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made this for a party and everyone loved it. I am a HUGE pumpkin fan and bake pumpkin treats constantly. So I consider myself a very good judge of anything pumpkin related. It is not to much like a dessert. It is a great casserole that has more of a dinner taste rather then dessert taste. I highly reccomend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy Red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Terrific. I substituted 1/2 C applesauce for the butter (hint: the small individual cups of applesauce for kids are about a half cup and then nothing left over to go bad in the back of the fridge), whole wheat for the flour (adjusted to make it self rising),and cut the sugar by half. I also added a heavy pinch of the following: nutmeg, cloves, ground ginger. Turned out beautifully. As well, on later versions of this delicious casserole, bc I am always trying to find ways to make things even healthier, I added half a cup of puréed zucchini & cauliflower. It muted the flavors a bit, but still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
LOVE this recipe, but I do 1.5 times the recipe so the amounts are more even (i.e. 1 whole pumpkin, 1 can evaporated milk, etc) except I still do 1c sugar and 1/2c butter. The first time I used all-purpose flour with the extras to substitute (salt, baking powder, etc) but the next time I used self-rising flour and the texture was a little better (less runny).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I loved this recipe and so did my whole family. I basically doubled the recipe because I had a about six cups of pumpkin puree but I did'nt really measure I just used my judgement. It came out so good and most of my family hate pumpkin but since we had it on hand and I needed to use it up I decided to try this recipe. It tasted more like a dessert and I did'nt even taste the pumpkin. Definatly 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
excellent....made it using gluten free flour. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I have been making this for years and it's always a hit. I've given the recipe out so many times and it still surprizes me how often I'm told it just wouldn't be a holiday dinner without Pumpkin Casserole on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States