Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I will admit that I made this two days ago and have eaten ALL of it myself (except for maybe 3/4 cup). I have it with coffee in the morning. I eat it with a salad for lunch. I eat it by itself and I loved it with frozen yogurt. I adore pumpkin as an ingredient in almost anything. My only change was the sugar, I took it down to 1/2 cup and next time will replace it completely with honey. Oh and I used "White Whole Wheat Flour" by King Arthur's. I always warm it prior to eating. It can serve as a dessert just as easily as a side dish. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My family loves this dish my lil girl is a picky picky eater she loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was great! I even had the picky eaters enjoying it. I wasn't expecting such a sweet side dish, but that wasn't a disappointment. My husband said it was like pumpkin pie without the crust which is how pumpkin pie should be,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
My son and I decreased the butter to 1/4 c. and the sugar to 1/2 c. after reading review of it being rich and sweet. It was perfect! He wanted to make some again right after dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made this for me and I loved it! But I used half the sugar (Splenda). I thought it was somewhere between a custard and bread. Am glad to have this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Easy, tasty. A fairly healthy snack/dessert. I changed proportions and lowered sugar using two cans of pumpkin, 1 can of milk, 3/4 c flour, 3/4 c brown sugar, 3 eggs, stick and a half butter, more vanilla and cinnamon. Used two casserole dishes. I didn't want to have left over pumpkin or evap. milk. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
After reading the other reviews I decided to cut the sugar in half. Most of the recipes on here that call for sugar are way too sweet for us, so I thought this would be true of this recipe as well. While I did like this, it could have used a little more sugar than I put in it, but definitely not the full amount the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I don't like the typical sweet potato or yam casserole (with the nasty marshmallows on top), so I tried this with the leftover canned pumpkin I had on hand. It was Delicious! Like someone else mentioned, not as sweet as I was expecting, which was great. It perfectly complemented the savory dishes we had on our Thanksgiving table, but this will definitely be made again throughout the year. Similar to a mild, not too sweet or overly spiced pumpkin pie. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good indeed. I wanted to use my gargantuan Halloween pumpkin- so I found a recipe for fresh pumpkin puree-then made this casserole. Because the evaporated milk comes in a 12 ounce can, I "one-and-a-halved" the recipe. I used 1/2 more of everything as written except the sugar. Based on other reviews- I left that at 1 cup. AND I added 3/4 of a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice (in lieu of the pinches of cinnamon.)I really like the consistency- it's smooth and creamy yet firm, sort of like a mousse. It's a little sweet- but not like a dessert. I made it today as a trial run for Thanksgiving- Going to put it in the line-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made this for a party and everyone loved it. I am a HUGE pumpkin fan and bake pumpkin treats constantly. So I consider myself a very good judge of anything pumpkin related. It is not to much like a dessert. It is a great casserole that has more of a dinner taste rather then dessert taste. I highly reccomend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy Red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States