Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
YUM YUM YUM! Very good and as easy as they come! I thought it was going to be a little too sweet for a side dish, but it wasn't. It was perfect! I used fresh baked pumpkin and instead of the 1/2c. self-rising flour, I used: 1/2c. all purpose flour plus 1/2 tsp. baking powder, 1/4 tsp. salt, and 1/8 tsp. baking soda as my Better Homes cookbook directed. We will be enjoying this many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was completely fantastic! I followed the recipe completely except for the substitution of all purpose flour for self-rising flour since that's what I had on hand. I followed Shana4105's review directions & used: 1/2c. all purpose flour plus 1/2 tsp. baking powder, 1/4 tsp. salt, and 1/8 tsp. baking soda. Everyone had seconds & thirds, even my pickiest child. It is sweet & I could see how it's more of a dessert for many, but it added just the right balance of sweet with a spicy meal. All in all an easy, different & delicious way to use pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I give very few 5 stars, and this dish was fabulous! It is something different than traditional holiday fare, yet full of pumpkin yummi-ness. It tasted a bit on the sweet side, so next time I'll try a little less sugar. Served with rosemary and sage roasted chicken and broccoli. Kids couldn't get enough--it was a great bribe to get them to eat their broccoli! This will make a regular appearance on my dinner table, especially at holiday time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is darn good. And lends itself well to substitutions. I did not have evaporated milk so instead I used a can of sweetened condensed milk and just left out the sugar. I didn't realize until just now that the recipe calls for self-rising flour. I used regular ol' unbleached all purpose and it turned out great. Didn't measure out my pumpkin, just used a 15 oz can. I'm betting that you can even sub 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil for the butter and add some more of the traditional pumpkin pie spices if it suits you. A word of advice, it is very delicious but a bit sweet for a side dish. Might want to cut back on the sugar a bit for supper. As is, it's great for breakfast. All three of my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocolots
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
The fact that one reviewer made this as pumpkin pie and another served it with chicken and broccoli indicates a case of mistaken (or rather confused) identity. The truth is that this recipe is quite versatile. I was going for side dish rather than dessert, so I only used 1/4 c brown sugar. I also replaced 1/4 c of the butter with 1/4 c applesauce to make it a bit healthier. Then I popped it in the oven while I prepared the rest of dinner - very easy! It came out moist and fluffy (warning: the fluffiness doesn't carry over to the next day), with just the right amount of sweetness to serve with dinner. For more of a dessert feel, I might use up to 1/2 c sugar - the pumpkin puree is sweet in itself. And you can top with marshmallows or whipped cream, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
We loved this I cut the sugar in half to make it healthier and was still amazing. My picky 4 year old even loved it, disapeared fast. Plus pumpkin is soooo good for you lots of vitamins. Will make again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I tried this as written and my family thought it was "okay". This is definitely something dessert-ish, though. Nothing that I would serve WITH dinner. On a second thought, I tried it again, but with my own twist: First I 86'd the canned pumpkin and opted (since it is Halloween) for a fresh, medium, pie pumpkin. I sliced it in half, scooped out the seeds (of course reserving them for toasting later), put the 2 halves on a cookie sheet with just enough water to cover the bottom and baked them in the oven @ 350 for about 45 minutes (as if making squash...yanno, because it IS a squash). Then, once it was fully cooked and cooled, I quickly peeled it and threw it in a bowl for the next step. Second: I got rid of the evaporated milk. I could distinctly taste it in the first dish and well, it tasted like tin. Instead I used 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 skim milk. I also used 1/2 c. sugar, omitted the salt, 1/2 the butter, and more cinnamon. DELISH! It was so light and airy and was like a mousse! It was devine! Still not savory, not too sweet but just right. If you've never had fresh pumpkin before, this is a great recipe to try it in. You'll never go back to the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I decided to try this recipe as a "crustless" pumpkin pie. It was GREAT!! I used pumpkin pie mix, as that was all I had on hand. I added an extra 1/2 cup of evap. milk, and a tsp of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon (I like a spicy pumpkin pie). I baked it in a 9x13 baking dish for an hour and it is perfect!! This will definitely be the recipe I use for "crustless" pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Very, very good, and very easy. I did reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup, but otherwise did not change recipe. My kids all loved it, even my picky one, and they fought over the last little bit. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
I thought that this was very good and quick & easy to prepare.Very tasty with poultry and pork also. The kids loved it when I topped theirs with mini-marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States