Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I am rating on behalf of my husband who asked me to make more of this right when the first pan got cleaned off. He loved it. I made it for a Thanksgiving meal and also got rave reviews. I actually like it even better cold, it's very much like a crustless pumpkin pie/custard. It's a dish that gets people's attention, plus it's easy--two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was really good- on par with sweet potato casserole. I cut back on the sugar per other reviewers' comments, and added only 1/2c brown sugar instead of 1 c white. I also didn't have self rising flour, so I just used regular flour plus baking soda and baking powder. I was happily impressed at how this turned out. Will make again at holiday time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made this 5 times since thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I usually cut the sugar and butter in half and still comes out delicious. Use all purpose flour + baking powder intead of self-rising and it works well. thanks Lori for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was SUPER EASY and really yummy!! Everybody loved it at Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing this really easy recipe, a tasty go to for the holidays especially if you're in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My husband used to hate pumpkin anything. We couldn't have taken him directly to this recipe, or he'd have turned his nose up at it. Instead, we did it the round about way: a) used a butternut squash recipe that had a gingersnap-crumbs and butter topping on it (which he agreed he could tolerate when his children loved it), b) had that same casserole a few times until he loved it, c) THEN we tried this one with the following substitutions: used whole wheat flour combined with the appropriate amount of soda, salt, and b.powder, used a combination of sucanat and stevia for the sugar, and used half skim milk (as that is what we had on hand). My biggest butternut squash fan still likes butternut squash better, but this squash can come from a can, which helps me on slower days, and what with pumpkin being soooo good for you.... mmmmm. // Oh, we used the large can, doubled the recipe, baked a small portion in the microwave for dinner, and the rest in a crockpot for dessert. The casserole in the microwave was not as fluffy, but was done in less than five minutes. The dessert in the crockpot was slower, so we were able to put the gingersnap-crumb topping on, and with its fluffy nature, was a real treat with herbal tea. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is good but not great. It's easy to make & different but I don't think I'd make it again. My husband suggested adding a streusel topping. That would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Tastes like pumpkin pie...without the crust. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Yummy! I was afraid this would be too dessert-like to be a side dish but it was wonderful. Just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is super yummy! Only thing I did differently was use skim milk because I was out of canned and I also added a sprinkling of nutmeg. Tasted like a pumpkin pie, but the texture was fluffier and lighter. Very good, but I'll probably cut back on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
You can't miss with this recipe! Be sure to use the self-rising flour (1/2 C flour, 1/2 t baking powder, 1/4 t salt, 1/8 t soda). I used one can fat free evaporataed milk, and for the sugar amounts I used 1/2 c white and 1/4 c briown. Instead of cinnamon I use 1 t pumpkin pie spice. I prepare this dish a day ahead and bake it the next. If you love pumpkin you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States