Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was really nice. A light texture and wonderful taste without being too overpowering of pumpkin. I like pumpkin and really liked this dish. My husband isn't a fan of pumpkin, but said this dish "wasn't bad" and went back for some more. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Made this for a church supper with freshly canned homegrown pumpkin. I had to add some Corn Starch since I didnt have any self rising flower, and it was amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Wow!! This is super delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
What a surprise ~ A little bit sweet but an excellent side dish with any meat. It would be excellent with BBQ. Puffed up like a souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Wonderful, I altered it some from previous reviews, and what I had on hand. Used 1/2c brown sugar & 1/2c applesauce instead of white sugar. Only used 1/4c butter. I used Half'n'Half instead of evaporated milk. Sprinkled cinn & nutmeg on top. I baked at 375, but still had to cook an extra 5 minutes. A previous review commented that it didn't save well, so I told the kids to finish it tonight. I left for a few minutes and when I came back, the bowl was empty. That never happens - unless it's ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Living In: Toddville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Fixed this for a church function. I forgot to use self-rising flour so I added the necessary ingredients at the last minute to the all-purpose flour I had poured in. It turned out nice but not as full as I think it would have. Everyone complimented me on the dish though. Super easy for a last-minute dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was delicious! I cut the recipe in half for four of us and baked in four custard cups. I didn't have self rising flour so I used the substitute of other reviewers. Also subbed applesauce for all the butter and used fat free evaporated milk and it turned out great and very healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I tried this as written and my family thought it was "okay". This is definitely something dessert-ish, though. Nothing that I would serve WITH dinner. On a second thought, I tried it again, but with my own twist: First I 86'd the canned pumpkin and opted (since it is Halloween) for a fresh, medium, pie pumpkin. I sliced it in half, scooped out the seeds (of course reserving them for toasting later), put the 2 halves on a cookie sheet with just enough water to cover the bottom and baked them in the oven @ 350 for about 45 minutes (as if making squash...yanno, because it IS a squash). Then, once it was fully cooked and cooled, I quickly peeled it and threw it in a bowl for the next step. Second: I got rid of the evaporated milk. I could distinctly taste it in the first dish and well, it tasted like tin. Instead I used 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 skim milk. I also used 1/2 c. sugar, omitted the salt, 1/2 the butter, and more cinnamon. DELISH! It was so light and airy and was like a mousse! It was devine! Still not savory, not too sweet but just right. If you've never had fresh pumpkin before, this is a great recipe to try it in. You'll never go back to the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
So easy and yummy! It comes out light and fluffy, I am going to make this all the time. I love pumpkin recipes! You can add extra sugar to make it taste more like a pumpkin pie or less if you want it to be more of a side dish. Either way it will be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I was looking for something fast and comforting and this was it! My husband and 2 year old loved it too! I made this a second time and we think it turned out even better than the first time using the following changes. I used a large can of pumpkin, used half a cup of heavy cream and half cup of whole raw milk for the evaporated milk, used a half cup grade B pure maple syrup in place of the sugar, or 3/4 cup of rapadura, and added a good bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. My family gobbled it up at supper and finished it off for breakfast the next day. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States