Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was delicious! I cut the recipe in half for four of us and baked in four custard cups. I didn't have self rising flour so I used the substitute of other reviewers. Also subbed applesauce for all the butter and used fat free evaporated milk and it turned out great and very healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I tried this as written and my family thought it was "okay". This is definitely something dessert-ish, though. Nothing that I would serve WITH dinner. On a second thought, I tried it again, but with my own twist: First I 86'd the canned pumpkin and opted (since it is Halloween) for a fresh, medium, pie pumpkin. I sliced it in half, scooped out the seeds (of course reserving them for toasting later), put the 2 halves on a cookie sheet with just enough water to cover the bottom and baked them in the oven @ 350 for about 45 minutes (as if making squash...yanno, because it IS a squash). Then, once it was fully cooked and cooled, I quickly peeled it and threw it in a bowl for the next step. Second: I got rid of the evaporated milk. I could distinctly taste it in the first dish and well, it tasted like tin. Instead I used 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 skim milk. I also used 1/2 c. sugar, omitted the salt, 1/2 the butter, and more cinnamon. DELISH! It was so light and airy and was like a mousse! It was devine! Still not savory, not too sweet but just right. If you've never had fresh pumpkin before, this is a great recipe to try it in. You'll never go back to the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
So easy and yummy! It comes out light and fluffy, I am going to make this all the time. I love pumpkin recipes! You can add extra sugar to make it taste more like a pumpkin pie or less if you want it to be more of a side dish. Either way it will be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I was looking for something fast and comforting and this was it! My husband and 2 year old loved it too! I made this a second time and we think it turned out even better than the first time using the following changes. I used a large can of pumpkin, used half a cup of heavy cream and half cup of whole raw milk for the evaporated milk, used a half cup grade B pure maple syrup in place of the sugar, or 3/4 cup of rapadura, and added a good bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. My family gobbled it up at supper and finished it off for breakfast the next day. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was a amazing. It is like a cross between a souffle, a cake and pumpkin pie. I VERY picky 13 year old eater went back for 3rds (and the child practically lives on mac and cheese). I cut down the sugar and since my family loves cinnamon I added quite a bit. I served it with a spicy meat and it was very well accepted. If you love pumpkin pie, you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
OMG. Absolutely delicious!! Easy too. An instant classic that I'll make OFTEN. The vanilla is a wonderful touch, just wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Wow - so good! I made a few changes to make it lighter ... I used 1 cup fat-free evaporated milk instead of the regular evaporated milk, 1 cup Splenda instead of sugar, 1 1/3 cups egg whites in the carton rather than the 2 eggs, and 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice rather than just the cinnamon. Everyone loved it! Next time I think I'll cut down to 3/4 cup Splenda - and there definitely will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was pretty good, my only complaint is that it is way too sweet, I would cut down on the sugar by at least half, maybe even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe is now one of my favorite dishes to make. Prep time 3-5 minutes and just an hour baking time. I added finely chopped walnuts on the top during the last 30 minutes of baking and the end result was pure pumpkin heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyvial

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I'm a pumpkin addict, and this pumpkin casserole recipe really hits the spot! It's super simple since you just mix all the ingredients together and dump it into a casserole dish to make, and the taste is amazing. It tastes like something inbetween a pumpkin pie and sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States