Pumpkin Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2002
My husband & I loved this. I added my own spices & didn't use the pumpkin pie spice. It was very easy to do and came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICO125

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
WOW! This was tasty and a great alternative to pumpkin pie for someone watching their weight. I served it to friends, and they applauded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This is one amazing recipe for flan that your guests will love, especially on thanksgiving! Deleriously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
this was wonderful!! fast and easy, no way to mess this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSEVOBREEZE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I made this as an accompaniment to Christmas dinner, I felt that it was very delicious. I read several previous reviews before I made it noticing that a lot of reviewers felt that it tasted more like pumpkin pie than flan. The starch in the pumpkin is what prevents the mix from turning into a normal creme, and I tried to get the proportion a little more accurate to ensure good creme'iness. I also prepared the flan in four square ramekins than an 8 x 8 square dish. I loved the presentation that came by using that instead. I think to get a more natural tasting flan, you need to use ramekins, and watch the time they are in the oven. I found that the right time is about 38 minutes. I simply loved a twist that pumpkin provided in this flan recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was a hit for thanksgiving everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I understand what an earlier reviewer meant by expecting flan and getting pumpkin pie. It's not that the recipe wasn't good-- it works, it presents well. But flan is so delicately flavored, and this just isn't. It's a lot like a pumpkin pie sans crust. Not worth the trouble for us-- I prefer either regular flan or pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
It tasted like pumpkin pie filling and the glaze was cloudy with pumpkin. It tasted good, but I was expecting flan! A little disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States